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EXECUTIVE SUMMARY
Background. The federal government established a nonrefundable child care tax credit in 1976. 

Since 1977, California has sporadically offered a similar credit. From 2000 to 2010 the state credit 
was refundable, allowing those tax filers with no state tax liability to receive some benefit from the 
credit. Today, the state credit is not refundable and therefore only benefits those filers with child care 
expenses and state tax liability. As part of the Supplemental Report of the 2015-16 Budget Package, 
the Legislature stated its intent to provide a refundable state child care tax credit to low- and middle-
income families. As such, the Legislature directed our office to provide options for consideration. 
This report is in response to that requirement. 

Four Options Presented. The options presented in this report make the credit refundable 
again, but otherwise retain most of the structural features of the state credit as it exists today. For 
instance, all options conform to the federal credit with regard to the eligible dependent limit (two) 
and eligible expenses (up to $3,000 per dependent). Maintaining this basic structure provides the 
most straightforward comparison to today’s law. Generally, the options presented differ in terms of 
the resulting revenue loss, the extent to which different income ranges benefit, and the maximum 
value of the credit. Revenue losses under the options range from $98 million to $157 million per year 
and the maximum benefit ranges from $903 to $1,680 per year, per family. (All options are based on 
the current minimum wage of $10 per hour. Recent changes to the minimum wage will affect the 
estimates presented in these options in future years.)

Many Trade-Offs to Consider. If the state child care tax credit were made refundable again 
it would provide a noticeable income boost to California working families and also encourage 
participation in the formal labor market to some extent. As noted above, this report retains many of 
the features of the credit as it exists today; however, other options could achieve other policy goals. 
For example, increasing or eliminating the two-dependent limit would make the program modestly 
more expensive but could benefit households with more than two dependents. Providing different 
credit amounts based on the age of the child or the quality of the provider may have policy merits as 
well. The Legislature will want to consider these other policy goals against the added complexity of 
the credit as it determines how it might modify the child care tax credit.
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INTRODUCTION

The Child and Dependent Care Expenses 
Credit (“child care tax credit” or “credit”) is a 
provision of the state income tax code that allows 
filers with income below $100,000 to reduce their 
tax liability by a percentage of their eligible child 
care expenses. The 2015-16 Budget Act required 

our office to prepare a report providing options 
to extend the credit to low- and middle-income 
families not currently receiving child care 
subsidies. This report provides an analysis of the 
costs, benefits, and trade-offs associated with these 
options. 

BACKGROUND 

Federal tax law allows filers to reduce their 
tax liability by a percentage of their eligible child 
care expenses. The state credit “piggybacks” off 
the federal credit, meaning that a filer’s state credit 
equals a percentage of the federal credit. Below, we 
describe the federal and state credits in more detail 
and provide additional context about child care. In 
the nearby box, we describe the difference between 
tax credits—such as the child care tax credit—and 
tax deductions. 

Child Care Services

Range of Providers. Parents receive child care 
services formally from two types of providers. 

Child care centers, which on average care for 
50 children, typically are more expensive, as they 
have higher staffing ratios. By comparison, family 
child care homes typically serve fewer than ten 
children. These are less expensive because the 
provider operates in his or her home and has 
only one or two employees. Some families choose 
informal care settings, like their own extended 
family, friends, or neighbors. Because these 
caretakers are not licensed with the state, we do not 
have data on how much families typically pay these 
types of providers.

Families’ Child Care Costs Significant. As 
seen in Figure 1 (see next page), child care costs 

Tax Credits Versus Tax Deductions

A taxpayer’s liability is determined by applying the relevant tax rates to their taxable income. A 
tax credit can be used to reduce a taxpayer’s final liability after tax rates are applied. For example, 
the California income tax allows all single filers a personal exemption credit of $109. A taxpayer 
with a tax liability of $1,000 before applying the credit would have a final liability of $891 after 
applying the credit. In contrast, a deduction is used to reduce taxable income before tax rates are 
applied. For example, the state income tax allows all single filers a standard deduction of $4,044. A 
taxpayer with a gross income of $40,000 would have a taxable income of $35,956 after subtracting 
out the standard deduction. A key policy difference between credits and deductions is that credits 
have the same value for all taxpayers, while deductions are more valuable to taxpayers who are in 
higher tax brackets. To illustrate, the standard deduction reduces tax liability by $162 for a filer in 
the 4 percent bracket ($4,044 multiplied by 4 percent), but $376 for a filer in the 9.3 percent bracket 
($4,044 multiplied by 9.3 percent).
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in California vary significantly by county and age 
of the child. For example, as shown in the figure, 
median child care costs for an infant in full-time 
care range from around $12,000 per year in the 
lowest-cost county to around $19,000 per year in 
the highest-cost county, with a weighted average 
statewide of almost $14,000. The average cost of 
full-time care is considerably less for a preschooler 
(about $10,000) or a school age child (around 
$8,000). Still, these costs take up a considerable 
share of family income—particularly for lower- and 
middle-income families.

Federal Credit

Credit Amount. The federal credit partially 
reimburses filers for child care expenses up to 
$3,000 per year for one dependent under the age 
of 13 or up to $6,000 per year for two or more 
dependents. (In general, filers may also claim 
expenses for a spouse or dependent who is living 
with the filer for most of the year and is unable to 

care for themselves.) The credit’s limits on expenses 
are far below most families’ child care costs. 
Figure 2 shows the federal credit percentages by 
income range. The credit is 35 percent of eligible 
expenses for filers making less than $15,000 per 
year. As filers’ incomes increase the value of the 
credit decreases, reaching 20 percent of expenses 
for filers making $43,000 or more per year. 

Example: Couple With Two Children in Child 
Care. Assume a couple filing a joint return had two 
dependents in child care in 2014, with child care 
costs totaling $16,000. One spouse made $50,000 
and the other made $7,000, for a total combined 
income of $57,000. As shown in Figure 2, this couple 
is eligible for a credit equal to 20 percent of their 
expenses. Because their child care costs exceed the 
federal limit of $6,000 for two or more dependents, 
the couple’s eligible expenses would equal $6,000. 
The couple is therefore eligible for a federal credit 
equal to 20 percent of $6,000, or $1,200.

Federal Credit Is Nonrefundable. The credit 
is nonrefundable. This 
means that it cannot reduce 
the filer’s final tax liability 
below zero. For example, 
the couple from the example 
above was eligible for a 
credit of $1,200 based on 
their income and expenses. 
If their total income tax 
liability before subtracting 
the credit amount was just 
$200, however, their credit 
would be limited to $200 (the 
amount that would reduce 
their final tax liability to 
zero).

Credit Potentially 
Limited by Second Earner’s 
Income. According to the 
Internal Revenue Service, 

Average Annual Full-Time Child Care Costa
Figure 1
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child care expenses must be incurred so that the 
filer (and their spouse in the case of joint returns) 
can work or look for work. Accordingly, on joint 
returns the amount of eligible expenses cannot 
exceed the second earner’s income. (Certain filers 
are exempted from this requirement, including 
full-time students.) Assume the second spouse in 
the example above made only $2,000 in 2014 rather 
than $7,000. Combined with the first spouse’s 
income of $50,000, their $52,000 in total income 
would make them eligible for a federal credit equal 
to 20 percent of their eligible expenses. Like the 
example above, assume the couple had total child 
care expenses of $16,000 for their two children. 
Because the second earner’s income is only $2,000, 
however, the filers cannot claim more than $2,000 
in eligible expenses. The couple in this case would 
be eligible for a credit equal to 20 percent of $2,000, 
or $400. (As the credit is nonrefundable, they 
would not be able to claim the full $400 on their 
return if their federal tax liability were less than 
$400.)

Eligible Providers. In certain cases, the federal 
government restricts the type of child care provider 
that can be used. Specifically, a provider cannot be 
the filer’s spouse, the filer’s dependent—such as in 
the case of an older child providing child care for 
a younger sibling—or a parent of the qualifying 
child. Costs under other arrangements, however, 
are eligible whether the provider has a license or 
not.

Credit Not Indexed for Inflation. Both the 
income bracket thresholds and the maximum 
allowable expenses stay fixed in dollar terms unless 
the Congress passes a bill to change them. This is 
in contrast to most federal income tax provisions 
(most notably the income brackets for tax rates, 
the personal exemptions, and standard deduction), 
which are automatically indexed for inflation every 
year.

State Credit

Similar to Federal Credit. The state credit is 
structured like the federal credit in most respects: 
it is nonrefundable, not adjusted for inflation, 
eligible expenses are limited to $3,000 for each 
of up to two dependents, and the credit amount 
declines as the filer’s income increases. Unlike the 
federal credit, the state credit has an income limit: 
filers making over $100,000 a year (as measured by 
federal adjusted gross income) cannot claim the 
state credit. As Figure 3 (see next page) shows, the 
state credit equals a portion of the federal credit. 
Specifically, the state credit equals 50 percent of 
the federal credit for filers with incomes between 
$0 and $40,000, 43 percent for incomes between 
$40,000 and $70,000, and 34 percent for incomes 
between $70,000 and $100,000. As the figure 
shows, this works out to 17.5 percent of eligible 
expenses for incomes between $0 and $15,000, 
decreasing to 6.8 percent of expenses for incomes 
between $70,000 and $100,000. As we describe 
later, however, lower income filers generally do not 
benefit from the nonrefundable state credit because 
they do not have a positive state tax liability. 

Figure 2

Federal Credit Percentages by  
Income Range
Income Range Percentage of Expenses

$0 to $15,000 35%
$15,000 to $17,000 34
$17,000 to $19,000 33
$19,000 to $21,000 32
$21,000 to $23,000 31
$23,000 to $25,000 30
$25,000 to $27,000 29
$27,000 to $29,000 28
$29,000 to $31,000 27
$31,000 to $33,000 26
$33,000 to $35,000 25
$35,000 to $37,000 24
$37,000 to $39,000 23
$39,000 to $41,000 22
$41,000 to $43,000 21
Over $43,000 20
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Example: Couple With Two Dependents in 
Child Care. Earlier, we described how the federal 
credit works for a couple with two dependents in 
child care. A couple with income of $57,000 and 
eligible expenses of $6,000 is eligible for a federal 
credit of 20 percent of their expenses, or $1,200. 
In addition, the couple would be eligible for a 
state credit equal to 8.6 percent of their $6,000 in 
eligible expenses, or $516. In total, the couple would 
receive child care credits of $1,716. (As the credits 
are nonrefundable, the couple would not be able to 
claim amounts greater than their tax liability at the 
federal or state level.) 

Fewer Taxpayers Benefit From State Credit 
Than From Federal Credit. Figure 4 shows usage of 
the federal and state credits by California taxpayers 
in 2013. The number of filers who took the state 
credit (about 180,000) is far lower than the number 
of filers who took the federal credit (about 669,000). 
This is mainly due to two factors. First, certain 
features of the state personal income tax, including 

dependent credits and low marginal tax rates at 
lower income levels, result in no state tax liabilities 
for many filers who have some federal tax liability. 
As such, many filers who receive the federal credit 
cannot receive the state credit because they have no 
state income tax liability. Second, the state credit 
has an upper income limit of $100,000. As shown 
in the figure, many filers making over $100,000 
benefit from the federal credit but not the state 
credit. About $29 million of the total $33 million 
cost of the credit in tax year 2013, or 90 percent, 
benefits filers making between $50,000 and 
$100,000 per year.

Illustration: Federal and State Credits by 
Income. Figure 5 shows how the maximum federal 
and state credit value varies by income level for 
one filer with two dependents in child care. (In 
creating this figure, we made various simplifying 
assumptions regarding this family’s tax situation.) 
We offer this illustration to help in understanding 
the options that we provide later in this report, as 

changing the state credit 
would change the credit 
value across different 
income ranges. As the 
figure shows, the federal 
credit has no benefits for 
families making less than 
$40,000, as they have no 
tax liability. The benefit of 
the federal credit ramps 
up quickly, reaching the 
maximum federal credit 
of $1,200 for families 
with income above about 
$45,000 per year. The state 
credit, by comparison, 
provides no benefit under 
$50,000. (As we described 
earlier, the federal credit 
benefits filers at a lower 

Figure 3

Federal and State Credit Percentages by Income Range

Income Range

Federal Credit 
(Percentage of  

Expenses)

State Credit 
(Percentage of 
Federal Credit)

State Credit 
(Percentage of 

Expenses)

$0 to $15,000 35% 50% 17.5%
$15,000 to $17,000 34 50 17.0
$17,000 to $19,000 33 50 16.5
$19,000 to $21,000 32 50 16.0
$21,000 to $23,000 31 50 15.5
$23,000 to $25,000 30 50 15.0
$25,000 to $27,000 29 50 14.5
$27,000 to $29,000 28 50 14.0
$29,000 to $31,000 27 50 13.5
$31,000 to $33,000 26 50 13.0
$33,000 to $35,000 25 50 12.5
$35,000 to $37,000 24 50 12.0
$37,000 to $39,000 23 50 11.5
$39,000 to $40,000 22 50 11.0
$40,000 to $41,000 22 43 9.5
$41,000 to $43,000 21 43 9.0
$43,000 to $70,000 20 43 8.6
$70,000 to $100,000 20 34 6.8
Over $100,000 20 — —
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income threshold than the state credit because 
lower-income filers are more likely to have a federal 
tax liability than a state tax liability.) Filers earning 
between $50,000 and $60,000 per year begin to 
have a positive state tax liability and thus benefit 
from the state credit. Filers 
earning between $60,000 
and $70,000 receive the 
maximum state credit of 
$516, or $258 per child. 
Between $70,000 and 
$100,000, the state credit 
is reduced to 34 percent 
of the federal credit, 
reducing the maximum 
state credit value to $400, 
or $200 per child. Filers 
earning $100,000 or more 
per year cannot claim the 
state credit.

State Credit Was 
Refundable Between 
2000 and 2011. Figure 6 
(see next page) shows key 
historical changes in the 
federal and state credits. As 
described in the figure, the 
state credit was refundable 
from 2000 to 2010. As one of 
many actions to address the 
state’s large budget shortfalls 
following the 2008 financial 
crisis, the state made the credit 
nonrefundable in 2011. The 
cost of the credit declined 
from $135 million in 2010 to 
$39 million in 2011, producing 
an annual budget savings of 
roughly $100 million. 

State Child Care Programs

Aside From Credit, State Spends Almost 
$3 Billion to Subsidize Child Care and 
Development Programs. The credit costs the 
state around $35 million per year. This amount 

Figure 4

Usage of Federal and State Credits by California Taxpayers
Tax Year 2013

Income Range

Federal Credit State Credit

Returns
Amount 

(Millions) Returns
Amount 

(Millions) 

$0 to $10,000 20 — — —
$10,000 to $25,000 29,860 $10.3 — —
$25,000 to $50,000 153,550 89.9 27,169 $3.1
$50,000 to $75,000 110,620 64.3 77,299 14.7
$75,000 to $100,000 90,450 53.7 73,659 14.6
$100,000 to $200,000a 194,680 114.1 1,394 0.2
$200,000 to $500,000a 78,060 41.9 68 —
$500,000 to 

$1,000,000
9,110 5.0 — —

Over $1,000,000 2,660 1.6 — —

 Totals 669,010 $381.0 179,589 $32.7
a The credit’s income limits are based on federal adjusted gross income. The figure shown above groups 

filers by their California adjusted gross income. Because of differences in how these are calculated, 
some filers with California income over $100,000 will have federal income below $100,000 and thus are 
able to take the credit.

Maximum Benefit From 
Federal and State Child Care Credits

Credit Amount, One Adult With Two Dependents in Child Care

Figure 5
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is a very small portion of total state funding for 
child care. Outside of the credit, the state offers a 
variety of child care and development programs for 
low-income families, most of whom are working. 
With total funding of $2.7 billion in 2015-16 
($1.8 billion from the state and $906 million from 
the federal government), these programs subsidize 
over 350,000 children. 

Eligibility and Fees. Families with income 
below 70 percent of the estimated state median 
income in 2007 are eligible for subsidized child 
care and development programs. For families with 

three people, the threshold is just over $42,000. The 
threshold is higher for larger families and smaller 
for a family of two. Families receiving child care 
and development subsidies may face some out-of-
pocket costs. These costs can be less than $100 to a 
few hundred dollars per month.

Child Care and Development Programs Do 
Not Serve All Eligible Families. State funding 
is insufficient to provide a subsidy to all eligible 
families. Where programs fall short of demand, 
priority is given to children who come from the 
lowest-income families or who are at risk of abuse 

Figure 6

Key Historical Changes in Federal and State Credits

Federal Credit
• 1976: Established as nonrefundable credit. Credit amount set at 20 percent of eligible expenses. Eligible 

expenses set at $2,000 per child for up to two children.

• 1982: Credit value increased to up to 30 percent of eligible expenses for filers with income under $28,000 per 
year. Eligible expenses increased to $2,400 per child.

• 1988: Filers were required to report the child care provider’s taxpayer identification number or name and address 
in the case of a tax-exempt provider. This change caused the number of filers claiming the credit to drop from 
9 million in 1988 to 6 million in 1989.

• 2003: Eligible expenses increased to $3,000 per child for up to two dependents. In addition, credit value 
increased to 35 percent of eligible expenses for filers with income under $43,000 per year.

State Credit
• 1977: Established as nonrefundable credit. Credit amount set at 30 percent of the federal credit, which was equal 

to 6 percent of eligible expenses. Income cap set at $20,000.

• 1983: Credit amount reduced to 3 percent of eligible expenses.

• 1985: Income cap repealed. Credit amount set at 5 percent of federal credit for filers with income over $20,000. 
The credit amount remained at 10 percent of the federal credit for filers with incomes below $20,000.

• 1987: Credit amount increased to 30 percent of federal credit for all filers, but the credit was also scheduled to 
expire after 1992.

• 1990: Credit value decreased across most income ranges. Specifically, credit value set at 25 percent of the 
federal credit for filers with income between $40,000 and $70,000, 20 percent for filers with income between 
$70,000 and $100,000, and 15 percent for filers with income over $100,000.

• 1993: With state budget facing shortfalls, credit allowed to expire after 1992.

• 2000: Credit reestablished as a refundable credit. Credit value set at 63 percent of the federal credit for filers 
with income under $40,000, 53 percent for $40,000 to $70,000, 42 percent for $70,000 to $100,000. Filers with 
income over $100,000 ineligible for reestablished credit.

• 2003: Credit percentage reduced to 50 percent of federal credit for filers with income under $40,000, 43 percent 
for $40,000 to $70,000, and 34 percent for $70,000 to $100,000. Combined with the 2003 increase in the federal 
credit described above, however, this change actually resulted in a somewhat higher state credit.

• 2011: With state budget facing shortfalls, credit made nonrefundable again. This change reduced the cost of the 
credit from $135 million in 2010 to $39 million in 2011, and $36 million annually in 2012 and 2013.
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or neglect. Based on participation data, a large 
proportion of eligible children do not receive a 
subsidy. In contrast, the credit is generally available 
to anyone who has a positive tax liability and pays 
for some child care expenses.

Child Care Subsidies Worth Far More Than 
Maximum Child Care Credit. Child care subsidies 
and the child care tax credit benefit families of 
different incomes. As mentioned above, families 
of three with incomes below $42,000 are eligible 
for child care and development subsidies; however, 
families typically do not benefit from the state tax 
credit until their incomes exceed roughly $50,000. 
The benefits these two groups of families receive 
also are quite different. For example, the 2016-17 
Governor’s Budget assumes a child care voucher 
is worth roughly $8,500 per child per year. By 

contrast, the maximum state credit is $258 per 
dependent for up to two dependents. Thus, a child 
care voucher is worth around 33 times as much as 
the maximum credit for one dependent.

Generally, No Overlap Between Credit and 
Voucher Program. Most households with income 
below the voucher eligibility threshold have no 
income tax liability. Therefore, the majority of 
families eligible for vouchers cannot benefit from 
the nonrefundable credit. As a result, there is little 
to no overlap between voucher recipients and credit 
recipients. In fact, many households with income 
under $50,000 do not benefit from either program 
because they have no tax liability and do not receive 
a child care subsidy (either due to income eligibility 
restrictions or lack of state funding).

POTENTIAL MODIFICATIONS 
TO THE STATE CHILD TAX CREDIT

Possible Policy Goals 

The goals of modifying the child care credit 
would presumably be similar to other programs 
that are targeted at working families: to encourage 
work and to relieve the burden of child care costs 
on lower- and middle-income families. 

Encourage Work. Evidence suggests that 
child care subsidies encourage parents to work 
in the formal labor market. Families must weigh 
the potential gains from working in the labor 
market against the substantial costs of paying for 
child care that they would otherwise provide at 
home. Because subsidies reduce the costs of child 
care, labor market opportunities become more 
attractive. There is an argument that encouraging 
work is a legitimate policy goal in its own right. 
Work experience enables people to develop the 
skills, habits, and connections that can help them 
eventually move into higher-paying jobs, and this is 

especially valuable for the typically young parents 
of children under 13.

Relieve High Child Care Costs. As discussed 
earlier, child care is a significant cost for many 
families. Expanding the tax credit would relieve 
some of the cost of raising children.

Decision Points 

The Supplemental Report of the 2015-16 Budget 
Package stated the Legislature’s intent to provide a 
refundable child care tax credit to low- and middle-
income families. Thus, all of the options presented 
here make the credit refundable. In addition to 
making the credit refundable, the Legislature 
would face many other choices in modifying the 
credit. Below, we discuss these key choices, or 
decision points, and identify issues for legislative 
consideration. 
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Relationship to Federal Credit. As mentioned 
above, the state credit is simply a percentage of the 
federal credit. For example, as illustrated earlier 
by Figure 2, a filer with taxable income of $50,000 
would be eligible for a federal credit of 20 percent of 
their eligible child care costs. This same filer would 
be eligible for a state credit equal to 43 percent of the 
federal credit, or 8.6 percent of their eligible child 
care costs. This straightforward relationship to the 
federal credit results in greater taxpayer compliance 
and ease of state administration of the credit. On 
the other hand, conforming to the federal structure 
foregoes the possibility of designing a state credit 
more specifically tailored to the Legislature’s own 
policy goals. In considering options for modifying 
the state credit, the Legislature will want to weigh 
the merits of federal conformity—primarily taxpayer 
compliance and administrative simplicity—against 
the merits of more tailored approaches. 

Varying Benefits by Age or Provider Quality. 
The Legislature could deviate from the federal 
credit structure if it wants to target the benefits in a 
particular way. For example, the Legislature could 
consider the following options:

•	 Vary Credit by Cost of Care to Different 
Age Groups. Infants and preschool age 
children have higher annual costs of care 
than older children who are in school 
for much of the day. To better reflect this 
cost disparity, the size of the credit could 
decrease as the age of the child increases.

•	 Vary Credit by Quality of Services. Some 
studies suggest that children fare better 
when placed in programs that meet 
recognized developmental standards. 
The credit could be limited to programs 
that meet developmental standards. 
Alternatively, the Legislature could offer 
a larger credit to families participating in 
these programs.

While these approaches may have some merit, 
verifying benefits by age or provider quality would 
be administratively complex and costly relative to 
the simpler options provided later in this report, 
possibly increasing administrative costs by up to 
around 20 percent. We discuss some of these potential 
administrative challenges in the nearby box.

Administrative Challenges

Relatively Complex Approaches Increase Administrative Costs. Making the credit more 
complex—for example varying the credit based on the dependents’ ages and/or the providers’ 
compliance with developmental standards—would require the Franchise Tax Board (FTB) to set up 
entirely new administrative processes. For example, some options might require FTB to establish 
data sharing agreements with state and local agencies or child care providers. The FTB estimates its 
additional annual administrative costs under such approaches could be up to 20 percent higher than 
under the simpler options provided in this report.

Improper Claims a Potential Problem. Evidence suggests that refundable credits can create 
additional administrative issues, including improper claims by tax filers. To limit these issues, the 
credit could be limited to dependents with valid Social Security numbers or Individual Taxpayer 
Identification Numbers, and the state could develop a program to educate tax preparers about 
compliance with the revamped credit. The Legislature also could consider limiting the second 
earner’s income to wage income. (We highlight the second earner’s income because it is where filers 
claiming the child care credit may have the greatest incentive to falsify income.)
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Overlap Between a Refundable Credit and 
Subsidized Child Care and Development Programs. 
Making the tax credit refundable would benefit many 
lower-income filers, including some who already 
receive child care and development subsidies. For 
example, some filers receiving vouchers may also 
have some out-of-pocket child care expenses and 
would thus benefit from a refundable state tax credit. 
Making the tax credit refundable also would benefit 
families who are eligible for subsidies but do not 
receive them, and families who are ineligible for 
subsidies. Families receiving vouchers already receive 
a large state subsidy whereas other similar families 
do not receive the tax credit or a subsidy. In targeting 
additional resources for an expanded credit, the 
Legislature could consider restricting the tax credit 
to filers who do not receive any subsidies, as this 
would increase the relative benefit to those families 
who do not receive subsidies. We note that restricting 
the credit in this way would increase administrative 
costs if strictly enforced.

Benefits for More Than Two Dependents. Due 
to federal conformity, the state credit is limited to 

two dependents. The state could choose to extend 
the limit to three or four, or to eliminate it entirely. 
Another option could be to reduce the amount of 
the credit on a per-child basis while at the same 
time eliminating the two-child limit to provide 
those with more than two children greater relative 
benefit. Like other options that depart from federal 
conformity, this option would complicate taxpayer 
compliance and pose administrative challenges. 

Total Level of Funding. Like any spending 
augmentation or tax reduction, an expanded 
child credit would require additional budgetary 
resources. Within any credit modification budget, 
the Legislature faces trade-offs concerning the 
degree to which different income groups would 
benefit. For example, expanding the credit to the 
entire low-income range may come at the trade-off 
of a lower credit value across the board, which may 
reduce the work incentives provided by the credit. 
We advise the Legislature to choose its priorities for 
the credit and then scale the modifications within 
a target funding amount consistent with available 
budgetary resources.

OPTIONS FOR LEGISLATIVE CONSIDERATION
The decision points discussed above could 

lead to many different possible structures for a 
revamped state child care credit depending on the 
Legislature’s priorities and objectives. To facilitate 
the Legislature’s consideration of priorities, we 
provide several options that are tied to its goal 
of making child care more affordable for lower-
income families. To illustrate the trade-offs of 
these different options, we estimate their costs and 
compare benefits at different income levels.

•	 Costs. The costs of an option include both 
the potential revenue loss to the state and 
administrative costs. (We describe cost 
estimating challenges in the box on the 

next page.) Estimates of administrative 
costs were developed by the Franchise Tax 
Board (FTB). We note that in preparing 
these estimates, FTB has assumed that 
it would be required to perform robust 
fraud and error prevention, outreach, and 
education activities for each option. The 
amount of focus FTB assumes for these 
activities may differ from what would be 
included in a legislative package to modify 
the tax credit.

•	 Benefits. For each option, we show the 
change in the maximum possible benefit 
available to a single filer with two or more 
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dependents in child care at different income 
levels. We only describe the effects on other 
types of households in the first option, but 
the effects on these other types of households 
would generally be proportionally similar 
under options 2 through 4.

Features Common to All Options. The options 
presented in this report retain most of the features of 
the state credit as it exists in current law. The credit 
would continue to conform with the federal credit, 
including federal provisions limiting the number of 

eligible children to two and capping eligible child 
care expenses at up to $6,000. Each option also 
makes the credit refundable again. Because the 
options are all relatively administratively simple, 
FTB’s administrative costs likely would be similar 
for all options. Specifically, FTB estimates that 
administrative costs under all options would be 
$13.3 million in the first year with ongoing costs of 
$11.9 million annually. The key difference among 
the options described below is the value of the state 
credit offered to filers in different income ranges. 

Cost Estimating Challenges and Considerations

Minimum Wage Changes Will Affect Cost Estimates. In 2010, when California last had a 
refundable child care credit in effect, the state’s minimum wage was $8 per hour. It is now $10 an 
hour. This report was essentially completed prior to the recent approval of state minimum wage 
legislation. That legislation will further increase the minimum wage. These increases will affect the 
income distribution in future years and therefore will change the cost of credit modification options, 
particularly over the longer run.

Data Issues. We note that the most recent personal income tax data cover tax year 2013. 
To produce the estimates in this report, we start with 2013 data and project the 2016 income 
distribution. Estimates will vary somewhat as new data become available. 

Other Challenges. To the extent that the options presented in this report impact employment, 
changes in incomes could increase or decrease the revenue losses presented in these options. Other 
economic effects are also possible. These effects, however, are difficult to quantify and thus are not 
captured in the revenue estimates in this report. We note that these revenue effects would likely be 
far smaller than the direct revenue loss resulting from a credit expansion. Similarly, because policies 
that subsidize child care are designed to increase the demand for child care, the options presented 
in this report could increase child care costs to some small degree due to increased demand for 
services. 

Effects on Propositions 98 and 2. Proposition 98 establishes a minimum funding guarantee 
for schools and community colleges that is in part based on state revenue. When state revenue 
decreases, it is usually the case that required spending on schools decreases as well. While the 
precise effect will vary from year to year, the Proposition 98 minimum guarantee generally 
decreases by around 50 percent of the revenue loss. For example, we estimate that option 1 in this 
report would decrease state revenues by $110 million, which might decrease the Proposition 98 
minimum guarantee by around $55 million. In addition, the options described in this report would 
decrease budget reserve deposits and debt payments required under Proposition 2 (2014) by between 
about $1 million and $3 million.
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Option 1: Restore Refundability

Option Benefits Low- to Middle-Income Filers. 
Option 1 makes the credit refundable. It makes 
no changes in the credit percentages. Specifically, 
the credit percentages would remain 50 percent of 
the federal credit for filers with incomes between 
$0 and $40,000, 43 percent for incomes between 
$40,000 and $70,000, and 34 percent for incomes 
between $70,000 and $100,000. Figure 7 compares 
the credit value under this option to current law 
for one adult with two dependents in child care. 
As shown in the figure, option 1 generally would 
benefit lower-income filers. Specifically, option 1 
would provide a substantial benefit of $1,050 to 
filers making $15,000 or less per year, a significant 
benefit of at least $516 to filers earning between 
$15,000 and $50,000 per year, and a relatively 
modest benefit to filers earning between $50,000 
and $60,000 a year. We estimate the revenue loss 
under option 1 to be $110 million. 

Effects on Other Types of Households. Joint 
filers with two dependents would receive a similar 
benefit but across a somewhat 
higher income range—
reflecting their generally 
higher household incomes. 
For a single filer with one 
dependent, the proposed credit 
would be exactly half as large 
as those shown in Figure 7 at 
all income levels. These effects 
can be applied to options 2 
through 4.

Option 2: Restore 
Refundability at a 
Somewhat Lower Cost

Option Provides 
Somewhat Less Benefit Than 
Option 1. If the Legislature 
were concerned about the cost 

of option 1, it could lessen the impact in other ways. 
For instance, our option 2 would provide filers 
with taxable income under $40,000 with a credit 
equal to 43 percent of the federal credit instead of 
50 percent. (The 43 percent rate currently applies to 
incomes between $40,000 and $70,000.) This option 
would slightly reduce the benefits to those filers—
making less than $40,000 compared to option 1. 
This option, however, would cost around 10 percent 
less than option 1. Specifically, we estimate the 
revenue loss associated with this option to be 
$98 million, or $12 million lower than option 1. 
Figure 8 (see next page) compares the credit values 
under option 2 to current law for one adult with 
two dependents in child care.

Option 3: Restore Refundability and 
Increase Benefits for Lower-Income Filers

Provides Even More Benefit to Low-Income 
Filers. If the Legislature wishes to focus more 
resources on increasing the credit value for 

Option 1: Restore Refundability

Credit Amount, One Adult With Two Dependents in Child Care

Figure 7
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low-income filers, it can increase the credit 
percentages for filers making less than $40,000 
per year. Option 3 provides filers making less 
than $40,000 a credit equal to 80 percent of 
the federal credit rather than 50 percent under 
current law. Figure 9 compares the credit values 
under option 3 to current law for one adult with 
two dependents in child care. As shown in the 
figure, filers earning just under $40,000 per year 
would receive a substantial benefit of over $1,000. 
The credit value would increase with decreasing 
incomes, reaching a maximum of $1,680 for filers 
making under $15,000 per year. This last amount 
would likely provide a greater incentive for people 
to seek paid work, considering that the base annual 
pay of a full-year, half-time job at the current 
state minimum wage of $10 an hour is $10,000. 
We estimate the revenue loss associated with 
option 3 to be $157 million in 2016—$47 million 
greater than option 1 and $59 million greater than 
option 2.

Option 4: Restore Refundability and 
Increase Benefits Across Income Range

Option Benefits All Filers, Particularly 
Low-Income Filers. Options 1 through 3 would 
focus additional resources on lower-income 
earners. If the Legislature also wants to increase 
benefits for higher-income earners, it can change 
the credit to achieve this objective. For example, 
option 4 would increase the state credit percentage 
from: 50 percent to 75 percent (under $40,000), 
43 percent to 50 percent ($40,000 to $70,000), and 
34 percent to 35 percent ($70,000 to $100,000). 
Compared to option 3, option 4 would provide 
filers earning less than $40,000 per year a 
somewhat smaller benefit while providing filers 
earning between $40,000 and $100,000 a somewhat 
larger benefit. Option 4 would carry the same cost 
as option 3—about $157 million—illustrating how 
the Legislature can tailor the credit percentages 
to reflect the benefit it wants to provide to filers 
across different income ranges. Like option 3, 

this option would provide a 
greater incentive for people to 
seek paid work, particularly 
for filers making less than 
$15,000 per year. Figure 10 
compares the credit value 
under option 4 to current 
law for one adult with two 
dependents in child care.

Summary of Options

Figure 11 (see page 
18) summarizes the four 
options presented in this 
report. The maximum 
benefit displayed in the figure 
applies to families making 
less than $15,000 per year. 
Consistent with the intent of 

Option 2: Restore Refundability at a Somewhat Lower Cost

Credit Amount, One Adult With Two Dependents in Child Care

Figure 8
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the Legislature in requesting 
this report, all four of the 
options make the credit 
refundable again. In addition, 
these options retain the basic 
structure of the state credit. 
We took this approach to 
avoid possible administrative 
and compliance costs 
involved with changing the 
basic structure of the credit. 
More importantly, however, 
these options are relatively 
straightforward comparisons 
to current law.

Estimating the Costs 
of Other Options 

The options provided 
above illustrate how different credit percentages 
would affect filers across the income range 
differently. These credit percentages, however, could 
equal any value the Legislature deems appropriate. 
Below, we detail the costs of 
making marginal changes in 
various aspects of the credit 
structure.

Altering the Federal 
Credit Fractions. As we 
discussed earlier in this 
report, changing the state 
fractions of the federal credit 
allows the Legislature to tailor 
the benefit to filers in different 
income ranges as well as the 
overall costs of modifying 
the credit. Figure 12 (see next 
page) shows the estimated 
costs of increasing (or savings 
from decreasing) the state 
fractions of the federal credit 

by one percentage point. The estimates assume 
that the credit would be made refundable. For 
example, we estimate that increasing the fraction 
for filers making $40,000 to $70,000 5 percentage 
points (from 43 percent to 48 percent) would cost 

Option 4: Restore Refundability and 
Increase Benefit Across Income Range

Credit Amount, One Adult With Two Dependents in Child Care

Figure 10
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Option 3: Restore Refundability and 
Increase Benefits for Lower-Income Filers

Credit Amount, One Adult With Two Dependents in Child Care

Figure 9
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$5.4 million (5 percentage points multiplied by an 
estimated $1.08 million per point).

Extending the Credit to More Dependents. 
The Legislature also could consider changing 
the number of dependents eligible for the credit. 
Figure 13 shows the percentage change in revenue 
loss from increasing the number of eligible 
dependents. For example, the estimated annual cost 

Figure 12

Change in Cost Resulting From  
Each Percentage Point Change in 
Fraction of the Federal Credit

Income Range
Cost Change 
(In Millions) 

$0 to $40,000 $1.59
$40,000 to $70,000 1.08
$70,000 to $100,000 0.75
Note: Assumes child care tax credit is made refundable. 

OTHER CONSIDERATIONS

Figure 13

Increase in Cost From Increasing the 
Number of Eligible Dependents

Number of Dependents
Percentage  

Increase in Cost

3 10.4%
4 12.8
No limit 13.6
Note: Assumes child care tax credit is made refundable. 
Based on U.S. Census Bureau American Community Survey data. 

Consider Outreach to Maximize Take-Up. 
While the state credit was refundable as recently 
as 2010, many filers who would be eligible for a 
refundable child care credit today did not have any 
dependents in child care in 2010. Moreover, some 

taxpayers who would benefit from a refundable 
credit may not be routinely filing tax returns due 
to having no tax liability. As such, if the Legislature 
makes the credit refundable again, it could consider 
efforts to promote participation and maximize the 

credit’s effects.
Consider Trade-Offs 

Between Voucher Slots 
and Credit. The state child 
care voucher program 
currently has an average 
annual cost of roughly 
$8,500 per child. If 
the Legislature were to 
apply $110 million (the 
revenue loss associated 
with option 1) instead to 
expanding the voucher 
program by creating 
more slots, it could 

Figure 11

Comparisons of Credit Expansion Options in This Report
Option 1 Option 2 Option 3 Option 4

State Percentage of Federal Credit for Filers Making:
$0 to $40,000 50% 43% 80% 75%
$40,000 to $70,000 43 43 43 50
$70,000 to $100,000 34 34 34 35

Maximum Benefit $1,050 $903 $1,680 $1,575

State Fiscal Impacts
Revenue loss $110 $98 $157 $157
Ongoing administrative costsa 12 12 12 12

 Total, Ongoing Impactsb $122 $110 $169 $169
a Franchise Tax Board estimates that administrative costs for all options would be $13.3 million in the first year and $11.9 million 

ongoing. 
b In addition, does not reflect lower state costs under Proposition 98 minimum funding guarantee or lower reserve and debt 

payment requirements under Proposition 2.

of option 1 (restoring refundability with no change 
in the state credit percentages) is $110 million. If the 
Legislature implements this option and eliminates 
the two-dependent limit, the estimated cost would 
increase by 13.6 percent, or about $15 million, for a 
total cost of $125 million. (The FTB estimates that 
this would result in additional administrative costs 
of around $2.5 million per year.)
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create slots for roughly 13,000 more children. This 
would increase the number of children covered by 
the voucher program by over 5 percent, but this 
would represent less than 1 percent of the eligible 
population. In contrast, adopting option 1 would 

provide a much smaller benefit per household 
but would benefit many more households. The 
Legislature may wish to consider these trade-offs in 
weighing an expanded child care tax credit.

CONCLUSION

Many Trade-Offs to Consider in Modifying 
Child Care Credit. If the state child care credit 
were made refundable again it would provide a 
noticeable income boost to California working 
families and also encourage participation in the 
formal labor market to some extent. Because of 
the credit’s structure as a variable percentage of 
the federal credit, the state has any number of 
options for targeting the benefits to particular 
income groups without necessarily increasing 
administrative complexity. Other options could 
achieve other policy goals. For example, increasing 

or eliminating the two-dependent limit would 
make the program modestly more expensive but 
could benefit households with more than two 
dependents. Providing different credit amounts 
based on the age of the child or the quality of the 
provider may have policy merits but would come 
at the cost of significantly greater administrative 
complexity. The Legislature also would want to 
weigh the merits of limiting improper payments 
against the additional enforcement expense. These 
are all trade-offs the Legislature will want to 
consider in modifying the child care tax credit.
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