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Summary

Caltrans’ Drivers Insured Through State Self-Insurance Program. Like all other state departments owning
vehicles, the California Department of Transportation (Caltrans) is required to participate in the State Motor Vehicle
Liability Self-Insurance Program, administered by the Department of General Services (DGS). This program pays
for injuries and damages caused by Caltrans drivers to other individuals and their property. Caltrans pays DGS a
premium each year in order to be insured under the program.

Caltrans’ Premiums Have More Than Tripled Over Last Three Years. Specifically, Caltrans’ premiums
increased from $4.2 million in 2014-15 to $14.6 million in 2017-18. (Despite this steep increase, the premium
remains a tiny share of Caltrans’ overall budget of $12.2 billion.) To cover its premium cost increase for 2017-18,
Caltrans requested $5.5 million from the Legislature. The Legislature approved the requested funding but directed
our office to (1) examine the causes of recent cost increases, and (2) present options for containing costs, such as a
safe driver training program.

Premium Increases Are Almost Solely Due to Three Exceptionally Large Claims. The number of insurance
claims against Caltrans has generally been trending down, which indicates that Caltrans’ premium costs are not
increasing due to changes in the frequency of vehicle collisions. Rather, Caltrans’ premiums are increasing because
the costs associated with its claims have gone up. In particular, three recent multimillion dollar claims (together
totaling $19.5 million) appear to account for virtually all of the increased costs. These exceptionally large claims
could be the result of the chance occurrence of a few extremely serious collisions, though DGS officials indicate they
believe it could be part of a changing legal climate leading to higher liability costs for the state.

Options to Reduce Costs Include Establishing State Liability Limit. California law currently sets no limit on
the amount of money for which the state can be held liable for vehicle collisions (though it does prohibit paying for
punitive damages). California’s law on liability limits differs from many other states, with a recent study finding that at
least two-thirds of all states maintain liability limits. If the Legislature is concerned about the state costs associated
with large liability payments, it could consider establishing a statutory limit, though this likely would result in some
claimants receiving less than the full amount to pay for their injuries and economic damages. A second option
to reduce costs is for Caltrans to take steps to bolster its driver training and vehicle safety practices, though the
department already appears to be adhering to many best practices to minimize collisions.
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As part of the 2017-18 budget, the California
Department of Transportation (Caltrans) requested
$5.5 million (one time) to pay for a nearly two-thirds
increase in its vehicle liability insurance premiums.
This insurance pays for damages caused by Caltrans
drivers to other individuals and their property. The
Legislature approved the requested funding but
included language in the Supplemental Report of the
2017-18 Budget Act directing our office to study the
issue further. Specifically, the reporting language directs
us to (1) examine the causes of recent cost increases,
and (2) present options for containing costs, such as a
safe driver training program. This report responds to the
legislative reporting language.

CALTRANS’ VEHICLE USAGE

The report contains four sections. First, we describe
various aspects of Caltrans’ vehicle usage, including the
types of vehicles the department owns and its policies
for employees to drive them. Second, we provide an
overview of the state’s vehicle liability self-insurance
program in which Caltrans participates. Third, we
examine the recent increases in Caltrans’ insurance
premiums. Lastly, we identify options to contain the
department’s premium costs. In accordance with the
reporting language, we focus on Caltrans’ vehicle liability
insurance costs in the report, though some of our
findings could have implications for vehicle insurance
costs for other state departments as well as state liability
for other incidents besides vehicle collisions.

Caltrans is responsible for planning, coordinating,
and implementing the development and operation of
the state’s transportation system. The department has
about 19,000 employees, who work in 12 districts
located throughout the state as well as headquarters
in Sacramento. The department’s staff primarily work
on maintaining and rehabilitating the state highway
system, though some staff support programs dedicated
to mass transit and other modes of transportation.
Below, we provide an overview of various aspects of
the department’s vehicle usage.

Employees Required to Drive. Many types
of Caltrans employees must drive to fulfill their job
requirements. Most notably, Caltrans’ maintenance
staff must travel frequently among district offices and
highway maintenance sites in order to perform activities
such as clearing vegetation and filling potholes. These
maintenance staff comprise about one-third of Caltrans’
workforce. In addition, staff overseeing highway
construction work and administrative staff sometimes
must drive among highway sites and department offices.

Driver Training Requirements. Caltrans employees
who drive must have a valid driver license appropriate
to the type of vehicle they drive. For example,
entry-level maintenance workers are required to
possess a Class C license, which permits them to
drive vehicles such as light trucks and landscaping
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equipment. In addition, employees who drive typically
are required to undergo at least one of the following
types of training and testing:

e Defensive Driver Training. Caltrans employees
who drive at least once per month are required
every four years to take a defense driver training
course run by the Department of General
Services (DGS). The DGS offers both classroom
and non-classroom courses (such as online
courses). In 2016-17, about 3,300 Caltrans
employees completed a DGS defensive driver
training course. Slightly less than half completed a
classroom course and the remainder completed a
non-classroom course.

e Maintenance Driver Training. Caltrans’ Division
of Maintenance provides driver training for its
field maintenance workers at its Maintenance
Equipment Training Academy. New field
maintenance workers are required to attend
a ten-day training course that includes both
classroom instruction as well as “hands-on”
training in maintenance vehicles. The division
also provides specialized courses for employees
operating certain equipment, such as snow
removal vehicles.
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¢ Drug and Alcohol Testing. Caltrans
employees who operate commercial vehicles
in safety-sensitive classifications are required
under both federal and state regulations to
submit to drug and alcohol testing. This includes
pre-employment testing, post-accident testing,

random testing, and reasonable suspicion testing.

Other Department Policies on Driving. Caltrans
has a number of policies limiting vehicle usage by
its employees. For instance, managers must give
their approval for an employee to use a vehicle, and
employees are prohibited from using state vehicles for
personal use. Caltrans also has a number of vehicle
safety policies related to activities such as securing
loads on vehicles, using amber warning lights, and
stopping and parking on state highways. Caltrans
employees who are involved in a
collision are required to record certain
information about the collision and
submit it to the department. After a
collision, a supervisor reviews the
information to determine whether
the employee needs additional driver
training. Caltrans can take personnel
actions against an employee if
the employee operates a vehicle
negligently or does not comply with
its policies on driving.

2017

Vehicles Owned. Altogether,
the department owns about 11,000
vehicles. Figure 1 summarizes this
fleet by type of vehicle. The largest
share of vehicles—about half—are
various types of trucks (primarily
pick-up trucks). Caltrans’ vehicles
are managed at the district level.

To ensure vehicle safety, district

employees are required to inspect light duty vehicles
once per year and heavy duty vehicles every 90 days.
Moreover, Caltrans indicates that it recently has begun
installing back-up cameras and other safety equipment
in many of its vehicles. (Though most driving occurs in
department-owned vehicles, some driving also occurs
in employees’ personal vehicles or rental vehicles.)
Miles Driven. In 2016, Caltrans employees drove
department-owned vehicles nearly 93 million miles. This
means that on average each vehicle was driven about
8,300 miles. About half of the miles driven in 2016 were
attributable to four districts covering the Bay Area,
the greater Sacramento area, the lower portion of the
Central Valley, and Los Angeles and Ventura counties.
Caltrans’ headquarters accounts for about 2 percent of
all miles traveled.

Most Caltrans Vehicles Are Trucks

Specialized
Vehicles?

Vans, Buses,
Trailers, and SUVs

2 Includes vehicles such as snow plows, concrete mixers, sweepers, and forklifts.
SUV = sport utility vehicle

Cars

Trucks

Total = 11,000 Vehicles

STATE MOTOR

VEHICLE LIABILITY SELF-INSURANCE PROGRAM

In 1977, DGS implemented a self-insurance program
through which state departments set aside money each
year to pay for anticipated vehicle liability expenses. Al
state departments owning vehicles, including Caltrans,
are required to participate in this program. Currently, the

program includes about 80 state departments. Figure 2
summarizes the main features of the State Motor Vehicle
Liability Self-Insurance Program, which we describe in
more detail below.
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Types of Coverage. The State
Motor Vehicle Liability Self-Insurance
Program covers injuries and damages
to other individuals and their property
caused by state employees driving
state vehicles. It also provides
secondary liability coverage for state
employees who drive a personal or
rental vehicle on state business. The
program does not cover damages
to state vehicles or injuries to state
employees. Instead, state departments
pay for damages to their vehicles from
within their budgets, while injured

Main Features of State Motor Vehicle Liability
Self-Insurance Program

\/ Covers bodily injuries and property damages to third parties caused
by state employees driving state-owned vehicles.

\/ Coverage has no limit, though punitive damages are prohibited.

\/ Department premiums based on five-year damage history.
Departments with more than 300 vehicles rated individually.

\/ Administered by the Department of General Services, except legal
services provided by the Department of Justice or Caltrans.

employees can seek damages through
the state Worker’'s Compensation Program.

Coverage Limits. California law currently sets no
limit on the amount of money for which the state can be
held liable for vehicle collisions, though it does prohibit
paying for punitive damages. California’s law on liability
limits differs from many other states. For example, at
least two-thirds of all states maintain liability limits.
(Please see the nearby box for additional information on
how California’s liability limits compare to other states.)

Premium Calculations. DGS assesses a premium
to each department in the State Motor Vehicle Liability
Self-Insurance Program. Premiums are primarily based
on the cost of the previous five years of collision

claims. DGS assesses an individualized premium to
each department with more than 300 vehicles based
on that department’s own claims history. For all other
departments, DGS groups them together and assesses
each the same premium based on their collective
claims history. Currently, 23 departments are rated
individually, while 57 departments are rated collectively.
In addition to paying for claims, premiums also cover
administrative expenses and provide a reserve for the
insurance fund

Premiums by Agency. For 2017-18, DGS
assessed a total of $37.5 million in premiums for all
state departments. Figure 3 (see next page) shows
the share of total premiums by state department.

How Do California’s Liability Limits Compare to Other States?

The U.S. Constitution grants states “sovereign immunity” from lawsuits. This means all states can
determine in their own laws the extent of their liability for actions by their employees. Below, we describe
how California’s liability laws compare to other states with respect to (1) overall liability limits and

(2) punitive damages.

Overall Limits. California is in a minority of states that sets no limit on its liability payments. At least
33 states set some type of statutory limit, according to a recent study by the National Conference
of State Legislatures (NCSL). (Though the study reported on liability limits generally, it appears they
typically would apply in cases involving state vehicle collisions.) States with limits typically set one limit
per claimant and a higher limit per incident. Some of these states also set higher limits for injuries and
deaths as opposed to property damages. The value of the limits vary. For instance, while Florida pays up
to $200,000 per claimant and $300,000 per incident, Pennsylvania pays up to $250,000 per claimant
and $1 million per incident. Rather than set a fixed limit, some states require public agencies to purchase
liability insurance and set the maximum payment at the amount covered under the policy.

Punitive Damages. California is in the majority of states that prohibit paying for punitive damages.
According to the same NCSL study, at least 29 states explicitly prohibit making these types of payments.
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Premiums vary by department due
to differences in their recent collision
history, which can be affected by the
number of vehicles owned, the total
miles driven, and the nature of the
driving. Caltrans and the California
Highway Patrol (CHP) have by far
the highest premiums, because both
departments have a large number
of employees who frequently travel
on state highways, often under
hazardous conditions.

Administrative Costs. The DGS
expects to spend $4.8 million in
2017-18 to administer the State
Motor Vehicle Liability Self-Insurance
Program. These administrative costs
are allocated to each department’s
premium based on its share of
claims. The funds pay to support the
12.5 DGS positions responsible for
investigating collisions, negotiating
settlements, and calculating state

Caltrans and California Highway Patrol
Have Highest Insurance Premiums
2017-18

California State University Department of Parks and Recreation

General Services

Other

Caltrans

California

Highway Patrol Total = $37.5 Million

handles court cases for all state departments

department premiums. Caltrans, however, handles except Caltrans, which uses its own attorneys. DGS
its own claims valued at less than $10,000. Program administrative costs have remained relatively stable
administration funds also pay for legal services for recently, averaging about $4.2 million annually over the
cases that go to court. The Department of Justice last five years.

CALTRANS’ PREMIUMS

Caltrans’ insurance premiums
under the State Motor Vehicle
Liability Self-Insurance Program
have increased significantly in recent
years. Below, we examine trends
in Caltrans’ premiums and collision
claims, including reasons for the
recent premium increases.

Premiums Have More Than
Tripled Over Last Three Years.
Figure 4 shows Caltrans’ premiums
each year over the last decade.

For the first seven years, premiums
fluctuated around $5 million.

Then, premiums nearly doubled

in 2015-16, and then increased

by nearly two-thirds in 2017-18.

Caltrans’ Insurance Premiums
Have Sharply Increased in Recent Years
(In Millions)

$16 -

2008-09 2009-10 2010-11 2011-12 2012-13 2013-14 2014-15 2015-16 2016-17 2017-18
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increases, the premium remains . .
a tiny share of Caltrans’ overall CIa!ms Ur.‘der $250,000 Decreasmg’
budget of $12.2 billion) Caltrans is While Claims Over $250,000 Remain Rare
not alone among state departments 800-
experiencing steep premium
increases—for example, CHP saw its Claims Under $250,000
premiums nearly double over the last 600
three years. By comparison, motor
vehicle insurance premiums charged 4001
by private companies nationally
increased by around 20 percent over 200
the past three years. )
Claims Over $250,000

Premium Increases Are Not the J
Result of More Collisions. Figure 5 2008 2010 2012 2014 2016
shows trends in the number of
claims over the last decade, broken
out by claims under $250,000 and
claims over $250,000. The number three claims occurred in 2013, they affected Caltrans’
of claims under $250,000 has generally been trending premiums starting a few years later because their full
down somewhat. Claims over $250,000, which are costs were not immediately recognized. For instance,
much rarer, have remained essentially flat, with only the $4.3 million claim is still open and is the main
a handful occurring each year. These trends indicate reason for Caltrans’ premium increase in 2017-18.
that Caltrans’ premium costs are not increasing due to Reasons for Recent Exceptionally Large Claims
changes in the frequency of vehicle collisions. Difficult to Determine. The recent exceptionally large

Rather, Premium Increases Are Almost Solely claims could be the result of the chance occurrence

Due to Three Exceptionally

Large Claims. Figure 6 shows

the total cost of claims against
Caltrans over the last decade. In
most years, claims against Caltrans
tend to hover around $4 million
annually, with the costs for claims
under $250,000 typically making

up one-half to three-quarters of the
total cost. However, as shown in the
figure, the claims costs increased
dramatically in 2013 due to a spike
in costs for claims over $250,000.
This spike mostly was the result

of three exceptionally large claims
costing $4.3 million, $6.8 million,
and $8.5 million. Notably, these

are the only claims over the last
decade that exceed $2 million. The
three claims involved serious injuries
(such as traumatic brain injuries)
and in one case a fatality. Though all
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A Few Large Claims Are Behind Recent Cost Increases
(In Millions)

$25 4

Claims Over $250,000
20 1 [ Claims Under $250,000
— 3 Largest Claims

= $19.5 Million
154

10 4

2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 20142 20152 20162

@ Estimated because some claims are still open.
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of a few extremely serious collisions. Yet, DGS officials
indicate that CHP and some other state departments
also have experienced recent increases in high cost
claims, making random chance seem somewhat less
likely. One possible explanation suggested by DGS
officials is that a changing legal climate has led to
higher settlements and judgements against the state.

In other words, claims that in the past might have cost
several hundreds of thousands of dollars today are
costing several millions of dollars. But determining how
changes in legal practices by the state and plaintiffs’
attorneys are affecting costs is difficult because each
case can have unique circumstances.

OPTIONS TO CONTAIN CALTRANS’ PREMIUM COSTS

As indicated above, the significant increase in
Caltrans’ premium costs is primarily due to three
exceptionally large claims in recent years. Accordingly,
we find that there are two main options to reduce
Caltrans’ premium costs. First and foremost, the
Legislature could establish a state liability limit to reduce
payments for exceptionally large claims. Such a limit
would apply to all state vehicle liability claims, not just
those involving Caltrans vehicles. Second, Caltrans
potentially could reduce vehicle collisions, which might
also reduce the likelihood of severe collisions.

Establish State Liability Limit. The Legislature
could consider establishing a statutory limit on the
amount of damages for which the state can be
held liable for collisions involving state vehicles. As
discussed earlier, many other states have set such a
limit. To determine an appropriate limit, the Legislature
could consider the limits set by other states, the typical
limits on private insurance policies, and the average
costs for medical payments and lost wages in collisions
resulting in severe injuries and fatalities. The Legislature
also could consider setting different limits for personal
injuries and deaths as opposed to property damages.
As one example, had the state had a $1 million limit
per collision over the last decade, Caltrans would have
saved nearly $19 million and the limit only would have
affected six out of over 6,000 claims. A limit, however,
likely would result in some claimants receiving less than
the full amount to pay for their injuries and economic
damages. If the Legislature were to pursue this option
to impose a limit, it also could consider whether to have
the limit apply to other incidents involving state liability
besides just vehicle collisions.

Additional Steps Caltrans Could Take to
Potentially Reduce Collisions. The National Institute
for Occupational Safety and Health (part of the
federal Department of Health and Human Services)

recommends employers create a motor vehicle safety
program to reduce collisions by taking several steps.
These steps include:

® Reducing Driving. Federal studies have found
a strong correlation between the number of
vehicle miles traveled and the number of traffic
fatalities. For this reason, the federal government
recommends employers reduce driving as much
as possible. In particular, it suggests employers
use a “journey management system” that has
formal mechanisms for assessing the need
for travel, considering safer modes of travel
besides driving (such as transit), considering
videoconferencing in lieu of in-person meetings,
and combining driving trips whenever possible.

e Training Drivers. The federal government also
recommends employers train new drivers as soon
as possible, using behind-the-wheel training and
training specific to different types of vehicles.
Additionally, it recommends employers conduct
routine on-the-road evaluations of drivers, review
employee driving records annually, and use
in-vehicle monitoring systems to track driving
performance.

e Making Vehicles Safer. The federal government
further recommends employers use vehicles with
high safety ratings. In particular, vehicles with
advance safety features (such as lane departure
warning systems, collision warning systems, and
rear-facing cameras) can help prevent collisions.
Properly maintaining vehicles and conducting
pre- and post-trip vehicle inspections also can
make driving safer.

As noted in the first section of this report, Caltrans
already has various polices in place to limit driving, train
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drivers, and ensure vehicle safety. Nonetheless, some
opportunities might exist to bolster these efforts. For
instance, Caltrans potentially could further its driver
training by making it more frequent or it could expedite
replacing older vehicles with newer vehicles with

CONCLUSION
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advanced safety features. However, there are costs
associated with taking these steps, and the benefits
might be somewhat marginal, given Caltrans already
has adopted many of the recommended best practices.

Caltrans’ vehicle liability insurance premiums have
increased substantially over the last few years. The
increase appears to be related to a handful of severe
collisions for which Caltrans employees were at
fault. These collisions resulted in extraordinarily large
payments to the injured parties of several millions of
dollars. At this time, however, it is not entirely clear
whether these types of large payments will continue or
escalate into the future, or whether they are the result of
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random chance. If the Legislature is concerned about
the state costs associated with these large payments,
it could consider establishing a statutory limit on liability
payments. Many other states have set such limits to
protect against large claims. Also, Caltrans could take
steps to enhance its driver training and vehicle safety
requirements, though the department already appears
to be adhering to many best practices to minimize
collisions.
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This report was prepared by Paul Golaszewski and reviewed by Anthony Simbol. The Legislative Analyst’s Office (LAO) is a
nonpartisan office that provides fiscal and policy information and advice to the Legislature.

To request publications call (916) 445-4656. This report and others, as well as an e-mail subscription service, are available on
the LAO’s website at www.lao.ca.gov. The LAQO is located at 925 L Street, Suite 1000, Sacramento, CA 95814.
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