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Proposition 82 

Public Preschool Education. Tax Increase on Incomes  
Over $400,000 for Individuals; $800,000 for Couples. 

Initiative Constitutional Amendment and Statute. 

OVERVIEW OF THE MEASURE 
This proposition changes the California Constitution and state law to create and 

support a new, publicly funded, preschool program for children to attend in the year 

prior to kindergarten. Figure 1 shows the main provisions of this proposition, which are 

discussed in more detail below. 

 

BACKGROUND 
Prior to starting kindergarten, most children in California attend some form of 

preschool or child care program. There is wide variety in the types of programs offered. 
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Typically, a program where children are cared for in groups is referred to as center-based 

care, also known as a child or day care center, preschool, or nursery school. Survey data 

suggest that 62 percent of the state’s 4-year olds attend some kind of center-based 

program prior to attending kindergarten. Participation rates, however, vary widely by 

family income level. For example, about 80 percent of 4-year olds in high-income 

families (earning over $75,000 a year) attend center-based programs, while the 

comparable figure for low-income families (less than $18,000 a year) is 49 percent. 

Children not in center-based care are tended by parents or relatives, or served by other 

arrangements (including babysitters, nannies, and family child care providers). 

All center-based programs must meet minimum health and safety requirements in 

order to be licensed by the state. Of the children in center-based care, about one-half are 

served by state and federal programs. These programs primarily serve children who 

come from low-income families. The three largest programs are: 

• State Preschool. This program provides services for 3 hours a day, 175 days a 

year. It focuses on helping children with both academic and developmental 

skills. The state spends about $210 million annually for 4-year olds in the 

program. 

• State General Child Care. This program, which typically runs 220 days a 

year, is similar to preschool in the morning, with adult-supervised 

enrichment programs in the afternoon. The state spends about $150 million 

annually for 4-year olds in this program. 
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• Federal Head Start. This provides both an education program and family 

support services—including health, nutrition, and social services. The federal 

government spends about $500 million annually for California 4-year olds in 

this program. 

A variety of providers—both not-for-profit and for-profit—serve the other half of 

California 4-year olds attending center-based programs. Families typically pay for these 

services. Even though most center-based programs are licensed by the state, programs 

can vary considerably with regard to focus, structure, participation cost, and teachers’ 

educational backgrounds. 

PROPOSAL 
Proposition 82 creates a new state program which significantly expands access to 

publicly funded preschool. 

Who Does the Program Cover? 
The new program provides 4-year olds access to one year of free preschool. The 

proposition guarantees this service for all children born on or after June 6, 2006 (that is, 

4-year olds starting preschool in 2010). Participation in the new preschool program 

would be voluntary. It would also be free of charge. (The proposition provides an 

exception in the case of a “funding emergency,” when the Legislature could, with a 

two-thirds vote and approval of the Governor, pass a one-year requirement that parents 

pay a fee to help cover the costs of the program. Even in this case, no child could be 

denied access based on an inability to pay.)  
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What Are the Key Components of the Program? 
The preschool program would consist of the following major components: 

• Curriculum Standards. The state would determine new standards for what 

would be taught in the new preschool program. These standards would be 

based on (1) what the state determines is age and developmentally 

appropriate and (2) the academic content that is taught in kindergarten 

through grade 3 classrooms. 

• Staffing Ratios. The new program requires that for every 20 children, there 

must be at least one credentialed teacher and one instructional aide. By 

comparison, state preschool programs must have ratios of no more than 

24 children taught by one teacher and two adults. Other licensed preschool 

programs must have ratios of at least 1 teacher to 12 children, or 1 teacher and 

1 aide to 15 children. 

• Access. The proposition requires that: (1) preschools be located near students’ 

homes, (2) parents be permitted to choose among programs, and (3) children 

with special needs (including those requiring special education services and 

non-English speakers) have access to the program. 

• Operational Hours. The new state preschool program must operate at least 3 

hours a day, 180 days a year. This is similar to what most preschool programs 

currently offer, although only the state and federal programs have specific 

legal requirements. 
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How Would Teachers Be Affected? 
Teachers working in a preschool funded by this measure would have to (1) meet 

certain qualification requirements and (2) be compensated at specified levels. 

Teacher Qualification Requirements. The proposition significantly increases 

educational requirements for preschool teachers. It requires that by July 2014, all 

teachers in the new state preschool program must have a four-year college degree. 

(Researchers estimate that around 30 percent of preschool teachers in California 

currently have a college degree.) By July 2016, teachers would also need to hold a new 

early learning teaching credential. This would likely require an additional year of 

education beyond a college degree. (Elementary school teachers could teach in the new 

preschool program if they receive their elementary teaching credentials prior to 2010 

and take roughly one year of college classes in early childhood education.)  

Currently, there is no minimum educational requirement for instructional aides 

working in preschool programs. Proposition 82 requires that preschool aides in the new 

state program complete 48 units of college, including 24 units studying early childhood 

education.  

Figure 2 summarizes these new requirements and compares them against current 

licensed preschool programs. 
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Figure 2 

Preschool Teachers/Aides Educational Requirements 

Current Proposition 82 

Teachers—State Preschools: Teachers: 

• 40 units (about 1¼ years of collegea) • College degree 

• 24 units in ECEb • ECE credential 

Teachers—Licensed Preschoolsc:  
• These requirements would typically 

require five years of college 

• 12 units in ECE (about ½ year of 
collegea) 

 

Aides: Aides: 

• None • 48 units (about 1½ years of collegea) 

 • 24 units of ECE (less than 1 year of 
collegea) 

a Assumes units are semester based. 
b Early childhood education. 
c Preschools that have been licensed by the state as having met minimum health and safety 

requirements. These include many private preschools. 

 

Teacher Compensation Requirements. The measure introduces compensation 

requirements for preschool teachers and aides. Currently, local programs have full 

discretion to decide what level of salary and benefits to provide to their preschool 

employees. Researchers estimate that preschool teachers earn an average annual salary 

of around $27,000. 

The proposition requires that, once they have a college degree and early learning 

teaching credential, full-time preschool teachers be compensated “similarly” to teachers 

in the kindergarten through grade 12 (K-12) public school system in their local county. 

(The proposition defines “full-time” as teaching two three-hour sessions per day.) 
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Currently, the statewide average annual teacher salary for public K-12 unified school 

districts is around $60,000. Together with health benefits and state and district 

contributions for retirement, K-12 teachers’ average annual compensation package is 

currently around $76,000. Like teachers, aides in the new preschool program would also 

have to be compensated similarly to aides in the K-12 system. 

In addition, the proposition extends the collective bargaining rights currently 

offered to public school teachers to all employees working for providers of the new 

preschool program, including those who work for private preschool providers. 

Who Would Administer the Program? 
County Offices of Education (COEs) would have primary responsibility for 

implementing the program at the local level. They must develop detailed plans 

describing how the county will meet the program’s requirements. The COEs could 

choose to begin offering services to children in 2007, starting with those living near low-

performing elementary schools, or they could wait and offer services to all interested 

students beginning in fall 2010. 

The COEs would select public and/or private preschool programs to serve as 

providers of the new program. Providers would have to meet all the requirements 

described above in order to receive funding. Existing State Preschool, State General 

Child Care, and Head Start programs would be given priority in receiving this new 

funding. Similar to K-12 public schools, preschool providers would have to be 
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nondiscriminatory and without religious affiliation in order to be eligible to participate 

in the new public system. 

The state Superintendent of Public Instruction (SPI) would have primary 

responsibility for overseeing the new preschool program. The SPI would allocate 

funding for the new preschool program to COEs based on a uniform, statewide per-

student rate. For the first ten years of the program, funds would be distributed across 

counties based on the number of 4-year olds living in each county. Thereafter, funds 

would be distributed based on the number of students each county serves. 

How Would the New Preschool Program Be Funded? 
The proposition establishes a new personal income tax (PIT) rate on high-income 

earners to support the new preschool program. The measure would impose an 

additional 1.7 percent tax rate on taxable incomes over: 

• Individuals—$400,000. 

• Heads-of-household—$544,457. 

• Married couples—$800,000. 

This would increase the top “marginal” tax rate (that is, the rate applied to the last 

dollar of income) from 9.3 percent to 11 percent. (See nearby box for an example of how 

the new rate would affect taxpayers.) Combined, these high-income earners currently 

represent less than 1 percent (or about 100,000) of total personal income taxpayers in the 
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state. These taxpayers pay about one-third of the $45 billion in annual PIT revenues. 

The higher tax rate would take effect on January 1, 2007. 

 

Proposition 63, passed by voters in 2004, imposes an additional 1 percent tax rate on 

incomes above $1 million to support mental health services. (This tax currently raises 

around $700 million a year for these services.) Taxpayers with incomes above $1 million 

would continue to pay this added rate under Proposition 82. Thus, Proposition 82’s 

additional 1.7 percent rate would increase these taxpayers’ total marginal PIT rate from 

10.3 percent to 12 percent. Based on current information, this would be the highest state 

PIT rate in the country. 

An Example of the Impact of the New Tax Rate 
A single person with a taxable income of $700,000 a year currently would pay 

2005 California personal income taxes of about $63,000. Most of the income would 

currently be taxed at the state’s top marginal rate of 9.3 percent. Under 

Proposition 82, this same single person would pay 9.3 percent on most of the income 

up to $400,000, but would then pay 11 percent on the income between $400,000 and 

$700,000. This would result in a total tax payment under the measure of $68,100—an 

increase of $5,100. 



Legislative Analyst’s Office 
2/16/06  5:00 P.M. 

FINAL 

 Page 10 of 17 

How Would the Funds Be Used? 
Revenues generated from the new tax described above would be deposited directly 

in a special state preschool fund. The revenues could only be used to support the new 

preschool program and not for any other purpose or program. 

There are four primary ways in which these funds would be spent: (1) funding the 

day-to-day operations of preschools, (2) establishing facilities to house the program, 

(3) training teachers and aides, and (4) developing a reserve fund to help guarantee 

future program stability. 

Program Operations. The majority of the revenues generated for the preschool 

program would be used to provide salaries and benefits for teachers, aides, and 

directors; purchase supplies and materials; administer, evaluate, and oversee the 

program; and support other operational and maintenance needs. (The proposition 

limits state and local program administration costs to no more than 6 percent of total 

annual program expenditures.) 

Facilities and Teacher Training. Beyond these ongoing operational expenditures, 

Proposition 82 also allocates certain funds for start-up costs. Specifically, it allows a 

total of up to $2.7 billion of the tax revenues generated for the preschool program to be 

used primarily over the first ten years of the program to fund the following activities: 

• Up to $2 Billion for Facilities to House Preschool Programs. These funds 

may be used to support construction, lease, purchase, or renovation of 
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facilities. Based on facility needs plans submitted by each COE, the 

Superintendent would determine the timing and distribution of this funding. 

• Up to $700 Million to Help Prepare Preschool Teachers and Aides to Meet 

New Qualification Requirements. Up to $200 million may be used for 

financial aid (scholarships or forgivable loans) to support full- or part-time 

students seeking to attain the college education required of teachers and aides 

in the new preschool program. Up to $500 million may be provided to the 

state’s public colleges and universities to develop and offer coursework in 

early childhood education, including a new preschool teacher credentialing 

program. 

Reserve. In addition, Proposition 82 establishes an operating reserve for the 

preschool program. Over the course of the first ten years after passage of the 

proposition, a portion of the revenues generated by the new tax must be set aside in this 

reserve account. After ten years, the account must contain enough funds to operate the 

new preschool program for one year. The program could access the reserve in any year 

that the statewide per-student preschool program funding level would decline without 

it. 

Implementation Dates. As described above, the measure has various starting dates 

and timeframes specified for various activities. Figure 3 summarizes these 

implementation dates. 
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Figure 3 

Timeline for Implementation of Proposition 82 

Finance  

2007 New tax on high-income earners begins to generate revenue for new 
preschool program (roughly $2 billion annually). 

2007-17 Funding provided for facilities to house preschool program (up to 
$2 billion in total over life of program). 

2016 State operating reserve must contain enough funds to operate the 
program for one year. 

Program Requirements 

2007-10 Counties can choose to offer preschool services to 4-year olds, 
prioritizing children who live near low-performing elementary schools. 

2010 All 4-year olds in the state must have equal access to free, voluntary 
preschool services. 

Teacher Training 

2007-17 Grants provided to public universities and colleges to train teachers 
and aides (up to $500 million). 

2007-17 Grants provided to individuals taking college courses required for 
teachers and aides (up to $200 million). 

2014 Teachers must have a college degree. Aides must have a year and a 
half of college, and have taken several early childhood education 
courses. 

2016 Teachers must hold an early learning teaching credential or the 
equivalent. 

 

FISCAL EFFECT 
Proposition 82 would have significant impacts on both state revenues and spending. 

State Revenues 
As noted above, the higher PIT rate created by the proposition would take effect 

January 1, 2007. We estimate that this rate would raise roughly $500 million in 2006-07 

(a partial fiscal year effect). Revenues would increase to a full-year amount of about 
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$2.1 billion in 2007-08, and then grow to around $2.6 billion by 2010-11, when the 

program would be open to all 4-year olds in the state. 

Potential Taxpayer Responses. Exactly how taxpayers would respond to the higher 

marginal tax rate created by Proposition 82 is difficult to estimate. The above revenue 

estimates, however, incorporate certain actions taxpayers would likely take. For 

example, the estimates assume that some high-income taxpayers will take actions—such 

as changing the way that some business-related income is claimed—to minimize the net 

impact of the PIT rate increase. By reducing the overall income claimed by these high-

income earners, these actions would also result in some annual revenue reductions to 

the state General Fund (around $100 million) and the mental health program created by 

Proposition 63 (in the tens of millions of dollars). 

The above estimates do not, however, take into account more extreme taxpayer 

responses—such as high-income earners leaving the state or not moving here—as a 

result of the higher rates. To the extent this occurred, revenues for the new preschool 

program, the state General Fund, and the Proposition 63 mental health program could 

be reduced more significantly. 

Impact on Preschool Program Spending 
As noted above, all the revenues raised by the higher tax rate would be available 

solely for the new preschool program. The following amounts would be set aside 

during the first ten years of the program: 

• Up to $2.7 billion for facilities, teacher training, and financial aid. 
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• A reserve containing enough funds in 2017 to run the program for one year. 

The remaining funds would be available for the day-to-day operation of preschools.  

Measure Would Provide Around $6,000 Per Student. We estimate that there would 

be about $2 billion a year to run the preschool program in 2010-11, the first year all 

4-year olds are guaranteed access to a preschool program. The level of funding available 

for each preschool student would depend primarily upon the number of children who 

decide to participate in the program. Based on information from other states that offer 

public preschool for all 4-year olds, our best estimate is that—over time—roughly 

70 percent of 4-year olds would participate in the new preschool program. (See nearby 

box for more information on possible participation in the program.) At this rate, we 

estimate that in 2010-11, the proposition would provide around $6,000 per student in 

the new preschool program. (By comparison, we estimate that California’s per-student 

funding rate for its existing state preschool would be approximately $4,000 in 2010-11.) 

The overall amount of revenue would not change regardless of the number of children 

who enroll, so per-student funding levels would increase if fewer children chose to 

participate and decrease if more children enrolled in the program. 
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Existing Programs Could Augment the Per-Pupil Funding Rate Statewide ($750 to 

$2,000 Per Pupil). The new preschool program may also be able to take advantage of 

resources provided to existing state and federal programs that serve 4-year olds. 

Depending upon future legislative decisions, the rate at which these programs maintain 

existing services, and how the costs of special education students are addressed, these 

programs could contribute additional support to the new preschool program in the 

range of $750 to $2,000 per student. Adding these funds to the funding provided by 

Proposition 82, there would be between $6,750 and $8,000 per pupil for preschool 

operations in 2010-11. 

Participation Rates Will Likely Increase 
Reports from other states that have implemented voluntary public preschool for 

all 4-year olds suggest that as many as 70 percent of California’s 4-year olds may opt 

to participate in the new state program over the long run. In addition, some families 

will opt to keep their children in private preschools. This could be around 10 percent 

of all 4-year olds. Combining both private and public preschool expected 

participation rates, the percent of 4-year olds attending center-based preschool may 

increase to as high as 80 percent statewide. This compares to the current center-based 

enrollment estimate of 62 percent. 



Legislative Analyst’s Office 
2/16/06  5:00 P.M. 

FINAL 

 Page 16 of 17 

Comparisons With Other States. Figure 4 shows a comparison of how other states 

funded public preschool programs in 2004. Currently, California’s per-pupil funding for 

its state preschool program is in the same spending range as about one-half of the other 

states in the country. Proposition 82’s funding level would mean a significant increase 

in the amount of state resources provided for each preschool child. This level of support 

would make California’s one of the highest funded state preschool programs in the 

country. 

Figure 4 

State Preschool Spending Per Enrolled Child 

$6,000 or 
more $4,000-$5,999 $2,000-$3,999 

Less than  
$2,000 No Program  

Minnesota Connecticut Alabama Illinois Oklahomaa Kansas Alaska 

New Jersey Delaware Arizona Iowa Texas Maine Idaho 

Oregon Massachusetts Arkansas Kentucky Virginia Maryland Indiana 

 North Carolina California Louisiana Washington Nebraska Mississippi 

 Ohio Colorado Michigan West Virginia New Mexico Montana 

 Tennessee Floridaa Missouri Wisconsin South Carolina New Hampshire 

  Georgiaa Nevada  Vermont North Dakota 

  Hawaii New York   Rhode Island 

      South Dakota 

      Utah 

      Wyoming 

Source: National Institute for Early Education Research, 2004. 
a Florida, Georgia, and Oklahoma offer free public preschool to all 4-year olds. Florida’s program and funding began in 2005. 

 

Other Potential Spending Impacts 
Proposition 82 could have a number of other potential fiscal effects. For instance: 

• Preschool Program Could Affect Districts’ Special Education Costs. State and 

federal law requires school districts to serve the educational needs of 4-year 
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olds with special needs. It is likely that with greater numbers of children 

participating in structured preschool programs, greater numbers of 4-year 

olds will be identified as requiring special education services. If this takes 

place, school districts would incur increased costs. The new preschool 

program could cover some of these district costs. Furthermore, some research, 

based on small pilots of preschool programs, suggests that greater 

participation in preschool may result in the long run in a reduction in (1) the 

number of children using K-12 special education services and (2) the number 

of years some children receive special education services. This would reduce 

school districts’ K-12 special education costs. 

• Potential State and Local Savings. Some research based on pilots of 

preschool programs suggests that greater participation in preschool may 

result in such outcomes as: a reduction in the number of children retained in a 

grade, a reduction in the number of child abuse or neglect reports, and a 

reduction in the number of juvenile court filings. The degree to which these 

effects would occur as a result of a statewide preschool program and the 

amount of related state and local savings are unknown. 


