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;; Sales and Use Tax Plays Major Role in California’s Tax 
System. The sales and use tax has two parts: a sales tax on 
tangible goods sold by California retailers, and a use tax on 
tangible goods purchased from other retailers—including out-of-
state retailers. Combined, they are the second-largest revenue 
source for the state’s General Fund and a significant source 
of revenue for many local governments. In 2016-17, the sales 
and use tax raised $53 billion for California’s state and local 
governments, including $25 billion for the state’s General Fund. 
(Roughly one-tenth of sales and use tax revenue comes from 
the use tax.)

;; Sales and Use Tax Rates Vary Across Cities and Counties. 
There are 24 distinct rates levied, ranging from 7.25 percent to 
10.25 percent. The average rate is roughly 8.5 percent.

;; California Department of Tax and Fee Administration 
(CDTFA) Administers Sales and Use Tax. CDTFA—a 
department within the Government Operations Agency—
inherited the sales and use tax program from the State Board of 
Equalization in 2017. 

California’s Sales and Use Tax
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;; Purchases From Remote Sellers. Tangible goods sold by 
retailers located in California are subject to sales tax. When 
Californians buy goods from out-of-state (that is, remote) sellers, 
those purchases generally are subject to use tax.

;; Use Tax Examples. Use tax is due in these common situations:

�� Making Online Purchases From Out of State. Use tax 
applies to tangible goods Californians purchase from remote 
sellers over the Internet.

�� Bringing Out-of-State Purchases Into California. 
Californians purchase tangible goods while they are traveling 
outside of the state. When they use those goods in California, 
they owe California use tax.

�� Buying a Car From a Private Party. When individuals buy 
used cars directly from other individuals, they owe use tax.

;; Challenges: Awareness and Enforcement. Many California 
consumers are not familiar with the use tax, leading to uneven 
compliance. One way to increase compliance is to collect use 
tax from sellers rather than buyers. However, courts long have 
interpreted the U.S. Constitution’s commerce clause in a way 
that limits states’ ability to collect use tax from remote sellers. 
Wayfair changed some of these restrictions.

The Use Tax
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;; Key Legal Concepts.

�� Substantial Nexus. In Complete Auto Transit v. Brady 
(1977), the Supreme Court of the United States (SCOTUS) 
established a multipart test to determine whether a state tax 
unduly burdens interstate commerce. A key part of the test: 
Does the taxed activity have a substantial nexus with the 
taxing state?

�� Physical Presence. In Quill Corp v. North Dakota (1992), 
SCOTUS ruled that North Dakota could not require Quill 
Corporation to remit use tax because the business had 
no physical presence in the state. This physical presence 
requirement originated in an earlier SCOTUS decision, 
National Bellas Hess, Inc. v. Department of Revenue of 
Illinois (1967).

;; 2011 Law Strengthened California Use Tax Collection 
Requirements. Chapter 313, Statutes of 2011 (AB 155, 
Calderon and Skinner) expanded California’s use tax collection 
requirements within the physical presence framework 
established by Quill. Under AB 155, all retailers “engaged in 
business” in the state must register to pay use tax. In particular, 
this requirement applies to:

�� Remote sellers in the same “commonly controlled group,” or 
corporate family, as in-state businesses.

�� Remote sellers who work with in-state affiliates—people who 
refer potential customers to those retailers.

Collecting Use Tax From Remote Sellers
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�� In 2016-17, businesses registered under AB 155 paid nearly 
$700 million in use tax, accounting for 1.3 percent of total 
sales and use tax revenue.

�� AB 155 revenue has grown much faster than other sales and 
use tax revenue. 

AB 155: A Small but Growing Share of  
Sales and Use Tax Revenue
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;; South Dakota’s Sales Tax Law. In 2016, South Dakota passed 
a law requiring remote sellers to pay sales tax if they meet one 
of two conditions in the prior or current calendar year:

�� The remote seller’s gross revenue from sales to South 
Dakota exceeds $100,000.

�� The remote seller made 200 or more separate sales 
transactions to South Dakota.

;; Lawsuit. South Dakota sued remote sellers who were not 
complying with the new requirements. The trial court and State 
Supreme Court ruled in favor of the remote sellers, citing the 
physical presence requirement established in Quill and Bellas 
Hess.

;; SCOTUS Decision. SCOTUS overruled Quill and Bellas Hess, 
eliminating the physical presence requirement and vacating the 
lower court rulings. The court found that the South Dakota law 
met the substantial nexus requirement established in Complete 
Auto.

 
South Dakota v. Wayfair, et al. (2018)


