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Summary

Unclaimed Property in California. California law requires banks, insurance companies, and many
other businesses (known as “holders”) to transfer to the California State Controller’s Office (SCO) personal
property considered abandoned by owners. Most of this “unclaimed property” is cash, like uncashed
checks. The state takes temporary title in these properties and maintains an indefinite obligation to reunite
the property with its owners. Both holders and the state are required to notify owners about their property
and attempt to reunite them with it. Funds remitted to the state but not reunited with owners provide a
source of General Fund revenue, currently around $400 million per year.

Holder Compliance With Unclaimed Property Law Is Very Low. Most businesses in California fail to
report unclaimed property—SCO estimates the compliance rate is about 2 percent. There are two reasons
for this: (1) they are unaware of the law or (2) they are willfully noncompliant, largely to avoid the high
interest penalty (12 percent annually) associated with failing to properly report.

Increasing Holder Compliance Has Merit. To increase holder compliance, the Governor proposes
allocating resources to SCO for more audits of potential holders. We agree with the Governor’s goal to
increase holder compliance. However, the scale of SCO’s audits cannot address the significant lack of
compliance. With only a couple of dozen audits conducted each year, SCO cannot change the behavior of
hundreds of thousands of California businesses.

Two Options to Address Holder Compliance. This report contains two options to try to substantially
increase holder compliance with unclaimed property law. In particular we suggest the Legislature consider:

¢ Including an Unclaimed Property Question on Businesses’ Tax Forms. The Legislature could
amend tax law to require businesses to respond to a question about unclaimed property as part of
their tax filings. This question would be purely informational (it would not have tax implications for the
business) and likely would significantly increase businesses’ awareness of the law.

* Providing One-Time Amnesty for Noncompliant Holders. The Legislature also could provide
one-time amnesty for holders who voluntarily report past-due unclaimed property by temporarily
waiving the penalty associated with delinquent reports. This could be an effective way to address the
problem of willful noncompliance.

The Legislature might want to consider pursuing both of these options. This would be even more effective
at increasing holder compliance than either of these options alone and would avoid placing undue financial
hardship on businesses. Effectively increasing holder compliance would mean more property reunited with
its rightful owners and could result in hundreds of millions of dollars in General Fund benefit.
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BACKGROUND

Unclaimed Property Program

What Is Unclaimed Property? California
law requires banks, insurance companies, and
many other types of entities (known as holders)
to transfer to SCO personal property considered
abandoned by owners. Nearly all “unclaimed”
properties are cash assets, like uncashed checks,
bank accounts, payments from insurance policies,
and the value of liquidated stocks and other
securities. In rare cases, unclaimed property
includes tangible items, like the contents of safe
deposit boxes. Property is considered unclaimed
if owners have had no contact with holders for a
specified period of time, in many cases three years.
This period without contact is called the “dormancy
period” (see Figure 1). The state “escheats,” or
takes temporary title in, these properties and
maintains an indefinite obligation to reunite the
property with owners (including heirs), should they
come forward and make a claim.

Holders Must Notify Owners of Impending
Escheat. State law requires holders (businesses)
to notify owners their property will escheat to the
state if they do not contact the holder. Holders
must notify owners between six months and one
year prior to the reporting deadlines described in

the next paragraph. These notices contain specific
information, including details about the property,

a statement that the property will escheat to the
state, and a form that owners can use to contact
the holder to keep the property active. The reasons
owners have unclaimed property vary. Sometimes
owners are deceased or simply unware that the
property exists.

Holders of Unclaimed Property Required to
Report Annually to SCO. By November 1%t of each
year, holders are required to submit a holder notice
report to SCO. This report details the property
that has exceeded its dormancy period. SCO
uses these reports to send pre-escheat notices to
owners, advising them to reestablish contact with
the property. In 2016, SCO received 16,555 holder
notice reports.

Property Escheats to State About Seven
Months After Holder Report. If efforts by holders
and SCO to prevent escheat have failed, holders
must deliver unclaimed property to SCO between
June 1 and June 15 (submitted with another report,
called the holder remit report). State law requires
holders that willfully fail to report, pay, or deliver
unclaimed property to SCO to pay 12 percent
annual interest on the value of the property from
the date it should have been reported, paid, or
delivered.

Dormancy Period Is Three Years for
Most Property Types

SCO Works to Reunite
Property With Owners. Before
and after property escheats to the

One Year
Wages and salaries, such as uncashed paychecks

Three Years?

Checking and savings accounts

Matured CDs and other time deposits
Payable individual retirement accounts (IRAs)
Stocks, bonds, dividends, and mutual funds

Seven Years
Sums payable on money orders

Fifteen Years
Sums payable on travelers’ checks

category.

2 Includes only a selection of example property types. Most other property types also fall into this

state, SCO conducts a variety of
activities to try to reunite owners
with their property. In addition to
the notices referenced earlier, SCO
maintains a website for owners

to search for their property, runs
advertisements, and works with
the Department of Veterans Affairs
to send notices to veterans who
appear to have unclaimed property.
SCO also has a property owner
advocate’s office that assists
individuals in making claims.

State law also allows individuals
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or businesses—known as investigators —to assist
owners in recovering their unclaimed property and
charge a fee of up to 10 percent of the value of the
claim. (Our report from 2015, Unclaimed Property:
Rethinking the State’s Lost and Found Program,
recommended a variety of options to improve the
state’s success in reuniting unclaimed property with
owners.)

Holder Compliance Is Very Low

Only a Small Portion of California Businesses
Are in Compliance With Holder Reports.
According to SCO, only 16,555 out of about
900,000 California businesses submitted a holder
report in 2016. This represents a compliance
rate of about 2 percent. (SCO’s estimate of total
businesses excludes self-employed individuals
and small businesses.) While this might be an
imperfect measure of the number of business with
unclaimed property, it strongly suggests that the
vast majority of California businesses are out of
compliance with unclaimed property law. Based on
this, SCO has estimated that the total amount of
outstanding unclaimed property that has not been
properly reported by holders to the state is in the
billions of dollars. Moreover, although the number of
active California businesses has increased, holder
reporting has declined —from nearly 23,000 holder
reports received in 2011-12 to 16,555 in 2016-17.

Many Types of Holders and Properties Are
Out of Compliance. The types of holders that do
commonly submit holder reports include banks
and other financial institutions, major multinational
corporations, and real estate agencies. Given
the very low compliance rate, there are examples
of nearly all types of businesses that are out of
compliance with unclaimed property law. This
includes hospitals, retailers, utility companies,
manufacturers, and insurance companies. Even
institutions that do remit reports fail to report
certain kinds of property. Some forms of unclaimed
property that is under-reported includes:

e Uncashed Checks. Other than sole
proprietorships, most businesses have
employees. As such, they are likely to
have some form of unclaimed property, for
example, in the form of uncashed checks,

www.lao.ca.gov
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like paychecks. While the dollar value of

a single unclaimed property might be low,
in aggregate, the value of this unreported
unclaimed property could be substantial.

¢ Individual Retirement Accounts (IRAs).
Even though major financial institutions
tend to submit holder reports to SCO,
audits have revealed that these institutions
still under-report IRAs. Like other forms of
property, IRAs are considered unclaimed
property if an owner has not made contact
with the account for three years. However,
other conditions must also apply, namely that
the owner must be over the age of 70.5 or the
property is payable or distributable.

e “Pay-Per-Click” Revenue. An audit of a
major California-based technology company
found that while the business was remitting
holder reports to SCO, it failed to identify
pay-per-click revenue. This is money paid to
individuals for allowing advertising content on
their websites. For example, one company’s
policy was to only issue a check once
revenues reached a certain threshold. For
some individuals, reaching that threshold may
take a long time and the owner may no longer
be involved with account.

e Other. SCO reports that many other forms of
unclaimed property are under-reported, some
specific to a particular industry. Automobile
dealerships tend to under-report customers’
deposits and Department of Motor Vehicle
fees. Casinos under-report uncollected
jackpots and bonuses and expired chips.
Professional sports teams often fail to report
ticket refunds.

Two Main Reasons Holders Are Out of
Compliance. SCO reports that there are two
main reasons that businesses tend to be out of
compliance. (“Out of compliance” can mean the
business fails to remit a holder report entirely or
fails to report a complete holder report.) In general,
when holders are out of compliance it is because
they either are:

e Unaware of the Law. Many businesses
are simply unaware of the law regarding
unclaimed property. These businesses do
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not to submit holder reports at all. Relatedly,
businesses also may lack adequate internal
procedures to remain in compliance with the
law. For example, holders must track when
owners are in contact with their properties
either through a technological solution

to automate monitoring or—for smaller
businesses—manually.

e Willfully Noncompliant. Some businesses are
aware of the law, but still either fail to submit
holder reports or submit incomplete reports.

A key reason some businesses might choose
not to comply with the law is the relatively high
interest rate that must be paid on properties
that have not been reported.

SCO’s Efforts to
Improve Holder Compliance

SCO Has Two Primary Ways to Increase
Holder Compliance. SCO recognizes the holder
compliance rate is very low and has made efforts
to increase it. SCO has resources for two major
activities related to holder compliance:

Department of Fee and Tax Administration and
the Secretary of State to provide information
about the law to new businesses. SCO
currently has six authorized positions and
$630,000 in expenditure authority for the
holder compliance unit.

e Audits. Second, SCO performs audits of

California businesses to ensure they are

in compliance with unclaimed property
law. Through the course of an audit, when
SCO discovers a business has unreported
unclaimed property, the business must first
notify the owners about it. If an owner does
not reestablish contact with the account,
the holder must remit the property to SCO.
In either case, the holder must pay penalty
interest to the state on the unreported
property. SCO also checks the businesses’
internal policies and procedures to ensure
they are able to perform the necessary
functions to comply with the law. SCO
currently has 17 authorized positions and
$2.7 million in expenditure authority to
conduct these audits.

e Holder Outreach and Compliance. First,

SCO established its holder outreach and
compliance unit in the 2012-13 budget to
increase businesses’ awareness of and
compliance with the law. This unit conducts
a variety of activities, including: speaking

at conferences, conducting training and
workshops, and sending informational letters.

SCO Conducts About 20 Audits Per Year.
Since 2013-14, SCO has released 119 holder
audit reports, an average of about 20 audits per
year. Audits result in more property reunited with

owners, property remitted to the state, and penalty

interest revenue to the state. Figure 2 shows a

recent history of the results of SCO’s holder audits.

As the figure shows, audits result in somewhat

SCO also works with both the California

more property being returned directly to owners by

Property Returned to Owners and Remitted to State From Recent Audits
(Dollars in Thousands)
2013-14 2014-15 2015-16 2016-14 2017-18 2018-19

Audit reports issued 29 21 10 20 19 20
State
Interest revenue $3,761 $2,073 $1,849 $2,980 $1,547 $1,400
Property remitted to state? 2,146 3,941 3,195 2,654 5,326 4,480

Totals $5,907 $6,014 $5,044 $5,634 $6,873 $5,880
Owners
Property returned to owners $9,392 $2,082 $95 $112 $863 $1,120
2 A portion of the property remitted to the state is eventually returned to owners.

LEGISLATIVE ANALYST’S OFFICE




holders. In addition, the amount the state spends
on audits each year—$2.6 million—is less than the
annual amount received by the state as a result

of the audits—$5.9 million (a portion of this is
eventually returned by the state to owners).

Since 2013-14, Holder Compliance Unit Has
Brought Thousands of Holders Into Compliance.
SCO estimates that, since 2015-16, the holder
compliance unit has brought an average of
2,200 new businesses to remit holder reports
for the first time each year. SCO estimates this
has resulted in an average of $57 million in cash
property reunited with owners (directly by holders)
and $70 million in unclaimed property remitted to
the state each year.

Unclaimed Property Provides a
Net Benefit to State Budget

Amount Escheated Always Exceeds Amount
Reunited With Owners. Each year, the state
receives unclaimed property from holders and
reunites some portion of this property with its
rightful owners. However, the value of property
remitted to the state always exceeds the value
of property reunited with owners. This difference
provides a monetary benefit to the state, which
first is deposited into the Unclaimed Property
Fund and then transferred to the General Fund.

property fund to finance SCO’s
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decades, even declining slightly in recent years.
(The significant spike in revenues in the mid-2000s
reflects a decision to accelerate the schedule for
selling securities.) The fact that unclaimed property
revenue has been largely flat in recent years is
consistent with declining rates of holder reporting.

State Maintains an Indefinite Liability for
Unclaimed Property. The cumulative amount of
past unclaimed property that was not reunited
with its owners constitutes a liability for the state.
With hundreds of millions of dollars flowing to the
state annually, this liability grows each year—and
the cumulative total now stands at $9.4 billion.

The state maintains an indefinite liability to reunite
property with owners—meaning owners could

one day come forward to claim any piece of this
total amount. That said, the vast majority of this
property will never be reunited with owners for a
variety of reasons. For one, some records contain
very little to no information about owners, rendering
reunification with owners virtually impossible. Also,
owners of properties that the state escheated long
ago may have died or moved to another state,
greatly diminishing the chances of reunification.

Actual Liability Much Smaller. The state’s
Comprehensive Annual Financial Report (CAFR)—a
display of the state’s finances in compliance with
generally accepted accounting principles—includes
an alternative estimate of the state’s unclaimed

The state uses the unclaimed

administrative costs to operate

General Fund Revenue From Unclaimed Property

the program. The remainder—the

amount that is not reunited with (In Millions)

owners or used for unclaimed

property administration—provides $1,000,

a source of General Fund revenue. 9001

This money is spent on programs 8001

throughout the General Fund 700+

budget. 600 1
Unclaimed Property Revenue 5001

Has Remained Flat in Recent 4001

Years. Figure 3 shows the 300+

annual amount of unclaimed 2004

property revenue to the state 100 1

adjusted for inflation. As the figure B

shows, General Fund revenue

from unclaimed property has

remained largely flat for a few
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property liability. Specifically, the CAFR includes
an estimate of the amount that owners will actually
claim in the future based on the state’s historical

experience in reuniting property with owners. The
2016-17 CAFR reflects an unclaimed property
liability of nearly $1 billion.

GOVERNOR’S PROPOSAL AND ASSESSMENT

This section summarizes the Governor’s proposal
to increase unclaimed property holder compliance
and provides our assessment of the proposal.

Governor Requests $1.6 Million (Unclaimed
Property Fund) for 11 Positions. The Governor’s
Budget proposes funding to improve holder
compliance with unclaimed property law. In total,
the Governor requests 11 positions and $1.6 million
ongoing (Unclaimed Property Fund) to continue
activities related to auditing holders for compliance.
(This proposal would make permanent a similar
2016-17 budget request plus one additional
position for administration.)

Increasing Holder Compliance Increases
Benefit to Owners and the State. We agree with
the Governor’s goal to increase holder compliance.
As discussed previously, compliance with
unclaimed property law is very low. The state has
the incentive to increase holder compliance for two
main reasons. Increasing holder compliance would
(1) result in more property being reunited with
owners (both directly by holders as well as by the
state) and (2) increase a source of state revenue.
Measured against these goals, audits result in:

e Slightly More Property Reunited With
Owners. As Figure 2 showed, since 2013-14,
SCO’s holder audits have resulted in an
average of nearly $1 million in unclaimed
property being reunited with owners directly
by holders. That said, the magnitude of
these increases is very low in the context of
the overall amount of property that holders
and the state reunite with owners each
year. For comparison, through the course of
the program’s normal operations, the state
reunites a couple hundreds of millions of
dollars with owners each year.

e Slightly More Unclaimed Property Remitted
to the State. As Figure 2 showed, since
2013-14, SCO’s holder audits resulted in an
average of $3.6 million in unclaimed property
remitted to the state and nearly $2 million in
related interest payments. (A portion of the
property remitted to the state as a result of
audits is eventually reunited with owners.)
That said, compared to existing unclaimed
property revenues (nearly $400 million in
2018-19), audit revenue of a few million
dollars is very low. Overall, the General Fund
revenue that results from the audits is low, but
exceeds the cost of the audits.

Audits Can Only Address a Small Share
of Holders Out of Compliance. The threat of
a potential audit is an important incentive for
businesses to comply with unclaimed property
law. That said, while there are benefits to auditing
holders—and the General Fund benefit of the audits
exceeds the cost of conducting them —there also
are clear limitations. Namely, the scale of audits
cannot address the vast holder under-compliance
rate. With only a couple of dozen audits conducted
each year, SCO cannot change the behavior of the
hundreds of thousands of California businesses
that are not complying with unclaimed property law.
As such, this approach is unlikely to result in much
additional compliance relative to current trends.
To address this problem, the following section
presents some additional policy options to try to
significantly increase holder compliance.
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OPTIONS TO INCREASE HOLDER COMPLIANCE

This section presents some options to address
the goal of substantially increasing holder
compliance with unclaimed property law. As
discussed earlier, there are two major reasons
holders tend to be noncompliant. They are either:
(1) unaware of the law or (2) willfully noncompliant,
mainly to avoid interest penalties. Each of the two
options in this section addresses one of these two
different causes of noncompliance. As such, the
Legislature could purse either or both of these
options.

Include an Unclaimed Property
Question on Businesses’ Tax Forms

Most California businesses file income tax
returns with the Franchise Tax Board (FTB) each
year. Under one option, the Legislature could
amend tax law to require businesses to respond
to a question about unclaimed property as part
of their tax filings. This addition to tax forms
could be relatively simple with a single question.
For example, the tax form could ask: “Did your
business submit a holder notice report to the
California State Controller’s Office last year?”
and indicate that the business could be out of
compliance with existing law if it responds “no.”
Alternatively, the tax form could include a few
different questions that ask about different property
types and length of time since owner contact. The
adoption of this question in tax software would be
critical to its effectiveness in improving compliance
because so many businesses file their taxes
electronically.

Option Would Address Holders’ Awareness
of Unclaimed Property Law. This question
would be purely informational —it would not
have tax implications for the business. The main
advantage of this option is that it is likely to
significantly increase holders’ awareness of the
law. Incorporating such a question into tax filings
is likely to be much more effective at increasing
compliance than notices or letters because it
incorporates information about the program into a
formal process that businesses participate in every
year.

www.lao.ca.gov

Resources Required. Implementing this option
would require additional resources for both FTB
and SCO. FTB would require additional resources
primarily to handle questions from businesses
generated by this new line on the form. SCO
would require additional resources to process and
evaluate additional holder reports and process
more claims by owners. That said, the cost of
these activities likely is much lower than the
benefit, both in terms of the unclaimed property
returned to owners and the amount of unclaimed
property revenue remitted to the state. As a result,
such a proposal likely would have a net benefit to
the state, possibly in the hundreds of millions of
dollars over time. (If this question were included
on businesses’ tax forms for the 2019 tax year,
increased reporting would likely begin in late 2020.)

Provide a One-Time Amnesty for
Noncompliant Holders

Another option is to provide a one-time amnesty
for holders who voluntarily report past-due
unclaimed property. Under current law, these
holders owe an interest penalty of 12 percent per
year for past-due unclaimed property. This may
deter some holders from becoming fully compliant,
particularly because the probability of being audited
is relatively low. The Legislature could temporarily
waive this penalty for a certain period for holders
who voluntarily report past-due unclaimed property.

State Has Conducted a Holder Amnesty
Program in the Past. The state has conducted
an amnesty program for holders before.
Chapter 267 of 2000 (AB 1888, Dutra), authorized
a one-year amnesty program beginning in
January 2001. (The program was extended for
a second year—through December 2002 —by
Chapter 22 of 2002 [AB 227, Dutra].) During
the amnesty period, SCO conducted outreach
efforts, including advertisements in national
newspapers. The program resulted in 4,927 holder
reports detailing 145,903 properties valued at
$196 million (in nominal terms)—$113 million in
cash and $83 million in securities. Of these reports,
1,567 were made by holders that had never
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previously filed. For comparison, this represented
about a quarter of property escheated in 2000-01
and 2001-02.

Option Would Address Willful Noncompliance.

Conducting audits—as the Governor proposes—
is one way to address the problem of willful
noncompliance, but it is a narrow solution to a
wide-ranging problem. Because the state only
conducts a couple of dozen audits each year,
businesses know that the probability of receiving
an audit is relatively low. Giving businesses a
temporary amnesty period to report past-due
unclaimed property could be a different—and more
effective—way to address the problem of willful
noncompliance, particularly among businesses that
are already reporting to SCO.

Resources Required. Implementing this
option would require resources for SCO—mostly
on a temporary basis—to process and evaluate
additional holder reports that occurred during the
amnesty period. Some more resources also would
be required on an ongoing basis to address higher
compliance rates and more claims by owners. One
way to limit the resources required would be to
roll out the amnesty period at different times for
different industries (say, one year for the service
industry, a second year for the financial industry,
and so on). That said, even if an amnesty period
were pursued simultaneously for all industries, the
temporary increased cost of these activities likely

LAO PUBLICATIONS

would be much lower than the benefit of unclaimed
property returned to owners and remitted to the
state. Consequently, there likely would be no net
cost to the state. The state’s experience with an
amnesty program in the past suggests this option
alone would result in at least a couple hundred
millions of dollars in additional revenue.

Both Options

Pursuing either of the options described above
in isolation may be less effective than if they
were implemented simultaneously. In particular,
a change to tax filings might make many more
businesses aware of the unclaimed property law,
but they also might be reticent to participate if it
means reporting years- or decades-old property,
carrying a very high interest penalty. Complying
with these interest penalties could even result in
a financial hardship for some smaller businesses.
Conversely, pursuing an amnesty program without
an effective way to increase businesses’ awareness
of the law would not bring many new holders
into compliance. As such, the Legislature might
want to consider pursuing both of these options
together—coupling an amnesty program with a
new reporting requirement to FTB—to increase
holder compliance, reunite property with its rightful
owners, and result in additional General Fund
benefit.
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