Search for Initiatives



Initiative Analyses


A.G. File No. 2015-041 September 03
A proposed constitutional initiative related to medical marijuana.
This measure states that any resident age 18 or older has the right to grow, own, purchase, and obtain a permit from the state to sell organic marijuana for medical use, without a recommendation or prescription from a physician.
A.G. File No. 2015-040 September 02
Amend the California Constitution to generally require physicians to notify a minor’s parent or guardian before performing an abortion on that minor, with certain exceptions.
This measure amends the Constitution to require, with certain exceptions, a physician (or his or her representative) to deliver a written notice to the parent or legal guardian at least 48 hours before performing an abortion involving an “unemancipated” minor. (This measure does not require a physician or a minor to obtain the consent of a parent or guardian.) The measure defines an unemancipated minor as being a female under the age of 18 who has not entered into a valid marriage, is not on active duty in the armed services of the United States, and has not been declared free from her parents’ or guardians’ custody and control under state law. The measure limits the ability to perform abortions on unemancipated minors to physicians only. The measure also requires that physicians report certain information to the state Department of Public Health after performing an abortion on a minor.
A.G. File No. 2015-039 September 01
A proposed statutory initiative related to the cultivation, use, possession, and sale of marijuana.
This measure changes state law to legalize the possession, cultivation, and sale of marijuana. Despite these changes to state law, activities related to the use of marijuana would continue to be prohibited under federal law.
A.G. File No. 2015-037 August 28
Nationhood status and possible secession from the U.S.
This measure states that it would institute regular statewide votes on changing California's relationship with the United States.
A.G. File No. 2015-036 August 24
Related to the cultivation, use, possession, and sale of marijuana.
This measure changes state law to legalize the possession, cultivation, and sale of marijuana. Despite these changes to state law, activities related to the use of marijuana would continue to be prohibited under federal law.
A.G. File No. 2015-034 July 29
Ownership of domestic ferrets.
This measure makes it legal for Californians to own ferrets as pets.
A.G. File No. 2015-033 July 27
A constitutional initiative related to compensation and retirement benefits for state and local governmental employees in California.
This measure includes a number of provisions that affect compensation and retirement benefits earned by people employed by state and local governments in California.
A.G. File No. 2015-032 July 16
Increases in the statewide minimum wage.
This measure would increase California’s statewide minimum wage by $1 each year until it becomes $15 per hour in 2021. After 2021, it would increase the minimum wage each year in direct proportion to a measure of inflation.
A.G. File No. 2015-031 July 08
Pension benefit calculations for some public university employees.
This measure may require the California Public Employees’ Retirement System to adjust how it calculates “final compensation in the determination of any pension or benefit” for most employees of the California State University and perhaps some employees of the University of California.
A.G. File No. 2015-030 June 23
Proposed statutory initiative that increases excise taxes on the distribution of cigarettes and other tobacco products.
This measure would increase the state’s cigarette excise tax from 87 cents to $2.87 per pack. The additional revenues would be used to increase funding for existing health care programs and services, and for other specified purposes.
A.G. File No. 2015-029 June 23
Proposed statutory initiative that would increase excise taxes on the distribution of cigarettes and other tobacco products. It also creates a new excise tax on the distribution of electronic cigarettes.
This measure increases the state’s cigarette excise tax from 87 cents to $2.87 per pack and imposes a new excise tax on electronic cigarettes of an amount equivalent to the increase in the state’s cigarette excise tax. The additional revenues would be used to increase funding for existing healthcare programs and services, and for other specified purposes.
A.G. File No. 2015-028 June 22
Homeowners and renters tax relief.
This measure amends the State Constitution to increase the homeowners’ property tax exemption from $7,000 to $32,000, effective January 2017. The measure also creates a supplemental income tax credit for renters, which would be provided in addition to the existing renters’ credit. This supplemental credit would be $125 per year for single renters and $250 per year for married couples and heads of households.
A.G. File No. 2015-027 June 22
Proposed statutory initiative related to the cultivation, use, possession, and sale of marijuana (Amendment #1).
This measure changes state law to legalize the possession, cultivation, and sale of marijuana. Despite these changes to state law, activities related to the use of marijuana would continue to be prohibited under federal law.
A.G. File No. 2015-025 June 12
Amend the California Constitution to generally require physicians to notify a minor’s parent or guardian before performing an abortion on that minor, with certain exceptions.
This measure amends the Constitution to require, with certain exceptions, a physician (or his or her representative) to deliver a written notice to the parent or legal guardian at least 48 hours before performing an abortion involving an “unemancipated” minor. (This measure does not require a physician or a minor to obtain the consent of a parent or guardian.) The measure defines an unemancipated minor as being a female under the age of 18 who has not entered into a valid marriage, is not on active duty in the armed services of the United States, and has not been declared free from her parents’ or guardians’ custody and control under state law. The measure limits the ability to perform abortions on unemancipated minors to physicians only. The measure also requires that physicians report certain information to the state Department of Public Health after performing an abortion on a minor.
A.G. File No. 2015-024 June 11
Cultivation, use, possession, and sale of marijuana
This measure changes state law to legalize the possession, cultivation, and sale of marijuana. Despite these changes to state law, activities related to the use of marijuana would continue to be prohibited under federal law. (This letter was revised on June 15, 2015.)